Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Leave a comment

Long distance relationships are, no pun intended, a labor of love. Emotionally- it’s one of the biggest tests that you could go through with another person. Will the two of you still remain to be head over heels over each other? Will one of you or the both of you get frustrated by the whole arrangement? Will you two come out stronger or will you two decide that it’s just not worth it anymore? Last weekend, a friend of mine and I were discussing if they could ever work. We came to this conclusion: they will work if the two people are dedicated to making it work. 

I think this video is the most romantic thing I have ever seen. Here is the story behind it: 

After my girlfriend moved away for graduate school, I wanted to create something different to express my feelings for her. I secretly created a song and video with my friends the Daylights in hopes that it would be passed around and get to her organically. WITH YOUR HELP, we can meet this goal and it can stand as a symbol of what we can do as an digital social community. This is dedicated to anyone who is separated from people they love.

I will let you know if it works on my Twitter @WalterCMay

I was elated to find out that it actually did work: http://voices.washingtonpost.com/blog-post/2010/12/_a_social_media_love_story.html

It made me think of what I did last weekend. Currently, I fancy a boy and he wasn’t exactly having the best week. Some extenuating circumstances came into play and an inconvenient situation turned a little bit more inconvenient. However, even with everything that was going on, I just couldn’t bear being away from him any longer. I wanted to see him smile even if it took doing something absolutely crazy. I texted the friend I mentioned previously in the post and I asked if it was possible if I could crash at his place because I wanted to surprise boy-I-fancy so I could cheer him up. Friend said yes and I’m so thankful that he did because it was one of the best weekends I ever had with boy-I-fancy. 

Are long distance relationships a little more work and a teeny bit emotionally draining? Yeah they are.

But there’s nothing like going out of your way to show you care and seeing that, through everything, they care too.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

