Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Leave a comment

Broken Social Scene. Feist. Arcade Fire.

I happened to stumble upon this picture. With the exception of Metric- Fantasies, after looking at this picture, I realized that I found out about these bands by happenstance.

I didn’t know that Broken Social Scene existed until I watched the episode of Queer as Folk when Brian and Justin got back together and made love to Lover’s Spit. After the show was over, I revved up the dial up modem and searched for the song. At first I thought it sounded like Sigur Ros, but then I found out that it was Broken Social Scene. Of course, I kept with the times, and like any teenager in 2003 I went to Kazaa and downloaded You Forgot It In People. A love affair with this band soon followed. When I visited Ithaca College, I asked my tour guide what kind of music she liked and we ended up bonding over Broken Social Scene because not many people had heard of them. Not going to lie, that conversation almost sold me on Ithaca- however, Hartwick decided to give me one hell of a scholarship and I couldn’t say no to that. But that girl taught me how to be an awesome tour guide. You just have to find ways to relate to people. This year, I received Forgiveness Rock Record as a birthday present. The funny thing was, although I appreciated my friends buying my drinks and my food that night, it was the only present I received that night that wasn’t edible…or drinkable.

Feist used to be in Broken Social Scene and then left the band to go solo. It was Fall 2007 and I just transferred to Oneonta. I ended up meeting this kid in my psychology class who would end up becoming one of my best friends there. Aaron, if you’re reading this, I’m talking about you. I just got a new computer and lost all of my music on my old laptop. Aaron was nice enough to burn me his whole collection of music and give it to me. That collection included The Reminder. After burning those CDs onto my computer, I thought “wow, I really might just belong here.”

In 2005, my friend had posted the lyrics “the power is out in the heart of man” to her blog. Although I never heard Neighborhood #3: Power Out, I truly related to that lyric. I’d rather not go into specifics of why it spoke to me so much- that part of my life is something I rarely talk about anymore. I asked her about the song and she told me it was from Arcade Fire. I bought the CD and they quickly became one of my favorite bands.

As for The Suburbs, I don’t know what I would have done if I never bought that CD. I didn’t even mean to buy it. I just came back from canvassing Canton and I needed new headphones. During my lunch break, I went into Strawberry Fields Music in Potsdam to see if they had any SkullCandy headphones. It turned out that they didn’t carry SkullCandy, but the owner offered me a discount and who was I to say no to that. As I was checking out, I looked at the wall and I saw that he had The Suburbs on vinyl. I asked if he had it on CD and he gave me the last copy of it. Unfortunately, I didn’t receive a discount on the CD but I could care less about that- whenever I missed home, whenever I missed Albany, I’d go outside, smoke a cigarette, and listen to the album while I looked at the sky. It made things better.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

