Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Hey, thanks for answering my Oneonta post. I’m from Long Island and my major would probably be Political Science, although I’m not positive on that one.

Leave a comment

haha I was just doing a random search for Oneonta on Tumblr and I came across your post.

And it looks like I’m the right person to talk to. I graduated last December with a B.A. in Political Science and a B.S. in Philosophy. I LOVED the Political Science program and my professors were my best friends. Through Oneonta, I interned at the Federal Communications Commission and I just finished working as a Field Organizer with the New York State Democratic Party. From August to Election Day, I was working up in Potsdam, NY on Congressman Bill Owens’ re-election campaign. We ended up winning, which was crazy because the 23rd Congressional District of NY is very conservative and we lost a lot of good dems this election cycle. There is no doubt in my mind that my education at Oneonta prepared me to succeed. Now I’m applying to law school. 

The Political Science program has moved to Schumacher Hall and the department is gorgeous. It has its own computer lab too! The professors are always encouraging you to take internships (many of my friends interned at the NYS Assembly and my best friend and I interned in DC a year and a half ago…I also met Bill Clinton when I was down there too!)…the classes are AWESOME and if you decide to go to Oneonta, chances are my favorite class will be back again. My advisor, Dr. Gina Keel, took us to New Hampshire to experience the Presidential Primary in 2008. It was the best experience of my college career- we got to jump between campaign offices and she let us drive and see our candidates speak. I got to see Obama speak twice and Hillary picked on me to ask her a question. You would be coming in just in time for NH 2012!

I’d like to know something though- why do you want to go into Political Science? 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

