Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Leave a comment

dylannord:

Novelty Lounge Go-Go Girls

Oh the Novelty Lounge. I remember when I first started out at Hartwick, I heard that it was sketchy, shady, and the reason why the management will kick out anyone under the age of 23 is because college kids used to throw quarters at the strippers. My friends and I would always joke about going there but we were always too creeped out by it. I wasn’t compelled to visit it until I found out a lot of my guy friends who were under 23 were able to get in. I would not stand for that gender/age discrimination! I wanted to prove a point- if my “underage” guy friends could get in a really skeezy topless bar, well- I wanted to go too!

I made a bucket list of things to do before I graduated in December 2009. Paying the Novelty Lounge a visit was a top priority. I rallied up three of my friends to embark on this adventure with me. To protect the reputations of the not-so-innocent, I will give them nicknames: Susie, Colin, and Ronan. Also, oddly enough- all three of the these friends are Irish and they are all on Tumblr. Colin already paid the Novelty Lounge a visit in the previous semester and he explained what to expect when we on the downtown bus.

I have to say- that is my first and last time I will ever go in a strip club. I felt so slimy going in. No one ID’d us, and Ronan and Colin made their way to the bar and took their seats while Susie and I stood by the pool table in shock. By no means are Susie and I prudes but I was in shock because I genuinely felt sorry for these girls. Here they are taking their clothes off to these really ugly townies (other than Ronan and Colin- they are sexy beasts)…how do you still have your self esteem after performing? I felt disgusting just being in there and when the manager demanded Susie and I to show our IDs, I didn’t mind getting kicked out because we were under the age requirements. I honestly saw enough.

…and then we went to the OST. And a better time was had by all!

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

