Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Leave a comment

I love to hate the Keurig.

I hate to love the Keurig.

My roommate had one in college and it was ridiculously convenient- that machine is capable of making delicious, gourmet coffee in a matter of a minute. It was handy too because sometimes I was the only one who wanted a cup of coffee and I didn’t have to worry about wasting a pot. I can’t tell you how many times that machine fueled my all nighters. My mom and my stepdad recently purchased one and I’m not going to lie, it’s one of my favorite things in our kitchen because it suits our fast paced lifestyle with two toddlers running amok in the house.

There’s two things I hate about the Keurig though. The K Cups are so delicious but what bothers me is the waste that they create. My family easily goes through 6 K Cups every single day. Green Mountain Coffee, the company who owns Keurig, has stated on their website that they are trying to develop an environmentally friendly K Cup. Some Keurig fans have said that the machine is more environmentally friendly than going to a coffee shop and they may have a point. When I make coffee with a Keurig at home, I use a mug or a thermos, and I stir the coffee with a spoon. All of those things, excluding the K Cup, I can easily wash and reuse. When I go to a coffee shop, 8 out of 10 times, I usually don’t have my thermos with me, so I have to get a paper cup, which requires a paper coffee sleeve, and I have to use a wooden stirrer. Although these paper products are recyclable and K Cups are not- if you don’t throw the paper products in a recycling bin, then you’re just sending them to the landfill along with the K Cups.

Although Keurig offers My K-Cup, a reusable filter that allows you to use your own ground coffee with the Keurig, it is horrible. My family and I have it and every time we’ve tried to use it, the coffee tastes horrible. Which brings me to my next point- like I stated before, the K Cups are delicious but I really enjoy support local businesses and buying their beans (like the Daily Grind). Maybe it’s because my family owns a restaurant and I have that ingrained in me- but even if it is a little more expensive, I like knowing that my money is going to support a family rather than a corporation. Since the My K-Cup can’t give you a good cup of coffee, you can’t support your local coffee shop, so the only choice you have is to buy the K Cups if you want to get your money’s worth out of your machine.

By the way- I feel like I must rant. If you live on Lark Street and you drink Dunkin Donuts, all I have to say is shame on you. Honestly, that’s the biggest eyesore on Lark Street. You want coffee? Go to Daily Grind or Caffe Lena. And Starbucks is fucking rip off…but that’s on State Street anyway.

Ok. Let’s steer this entry in the right direction. I’m going to be in the market for a coffee maker once I get a new job and move back to Albany. I never had my own coffee maker before- my roommates either had one or when I lived in Albany last year, I drank Yerba Mate because I wanted to reduce my coffee intake. Yet it never gave me the same satisfaction as enjoying a cup of coffee. I think it’s because coffee has a thicker body than Yerba Mate.I was going to buy an actual coffee maker but then the campaign whisked me away and I found myself being a regular at the Stewart’s in Potsdam. I don’t know whether I want a Keurig or a regular coffee maker- even after I lined out my own pluses and deltas. The Keurig is so convenient and always produces an amazing cup of coffee yet I hate feeling like I’m destroying the earth with my K Cup waste and I feel so limited with the coffee choices.

Stay tuned. Once I get a job, I’m going to have to make the decision shortly after. I just promise not to make this decision as self-absorbed as LeBron James’ decision was.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

