Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Leave a comment

I’m wearing…

A light blue oxford by New York and Company

A black pea coat by H&M

Grey dress trousers by New York and Company

Flats from Journey’s.

Today was eventful- I went to Peck’s, the supermarket that is 10 minutes away from my house. SCORE! As ashamed as I am to admit it, I don’t get out much these days since my contract ended. Which is weird because in the past, I was always someone who had a laundry list of places to go and people to see. Now that I don’t have a job, I don’t have places to go, especially in this rural county. Now that my friends have moved away, I don’t have many people to see. During the last two months, I was really hard on myself because around this time last year, I was getting ready to move to Albany and I was a college grad for only barely even three weeks. I felt as if I took the biggest step backward as soon as I landed back in Sullivan County.

Now- I don’t want my life to be like that anymore. I’ve set the dates. I want to be out of here by February 1st. If not February 1st, the latest I will accept is March 1st. I want my life back. I see that I’m at a brick wall right now and I’m determined more than ever to make my dreams come true.

I’ve already executed a plan and it starts tomorrow.

The theme of the plan is: Let’s make Sullivan County something more. This isn’t such a horrible place as I make it out to be. This was an awesome place to grow up! I look forward to coming home in the summertime because it’s so beautiful here. Whenever I go into my dad’s restaurant, there’s always some customer who tells me that they remember me when I was little. Yeah- my friends are gone. Well, guess what. Last year, when I moved to Albany, they felt the same exact way too because I moved somewhere new and they were here. Now, I get to feel what they felt. It wasn’t an easy time for them, but they made it through, found other opportunities, and moved away. It just takes time.

Tomorrow- I’m going to see if I can set up a fundraiser for the ASPCA for the weekend of the 14th. I’m pretty pumped about that. I’m also going to call a few places that I know of and ask if I can be a volunteer for a couple days a week. When I formulated the plan, I realized that I should have done this a long time ago. Better late than never!

I’m out to make 2011 one of the best years of my life.

Let’s do it!

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

