Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

to put more smiles in the world, that’s what we’re here for

Leave a comment

 

what a wonderful, wonderful world we live in.

man- writing that sentence feels so good. It makes me feel like things are getting back how they’re supposed to be.

Yesterday, I talked to a friend. The funny thing is- I would have never have met him unless I went up North. I’m glad I did- he was my comrade up there and now he’s shipping off to a whole new adventure to serve our country. The last time I saw him was right before Election Day. I have no idea when I will see him again but I’m thankful that we met. It made me think- I wouldn’t have met so many wonderful people if I didn’t go to the North Country. I credit living in DC with giving me the chance to expand my world, show me that I adore living in a city, and making me discover a beautiful, beautiful part of myself that I would have never found without the help of a dear friend. I credit the North Country for teaching me so much about New York State that I would have never have known before if I had not worked there. The truth is, I probably would have never been to the North Country without the job. That would have been a shame. I would have never discovered that I really am a strong person and that if you work really hard…

what seems impossible will be possible.

It’s funny to think that the whole experience would have never happened if I wasn’t laid off in June. I was so bored that I said to myself, “if I can’t find work in my field, I’ll volunteer in my field.” It all snowballed from there.

The moral of the story is that there are doors all around us that can change our lives- you just have to take a leap of faith and find out what’s behind them.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

