Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Leave a comment

What I Wore Today:

My favorite blue sweater from Gap. It’s my favorite thing to wear. I bought it on the sale rack during my freshman year when I was home for fall break. The funny thing about it is that it’s an extra small. I don’t know whether or not it was measured wrong or not- it fits perfectly and still is a little baggy even though I wear a 34D. (Stay tuned: one day I will post about how to shop when you’re a D cup because it’s not easy.)

My Oneonta sweatpants. I love these things. I got them for being a Student Association Senator last year which means that they were free! I think that’s the reason why they’re extra comfy.

As you may notice…there isn’t a picture today. There’s a very good reason for that- my stepdad thought we had oil in the tank but as we all found out this morning…we don’t. From now until hopefully tomorrow, we don’t have any heat or hot water so I couldn’t take a shower today. I wanted to spare everyone from that sight. Also, living without oil is pretty cool- I’m viewing it as going camping in your own house. The fireplace has been running all day and there’s nothing as satisfying to your ears than to the roaring sound of a fire.

Today was a good day, despite the whole not having heat and hot water deal! I finished my fellowship application and I scored an awesome volunteer opportunity at an office that’s in my career field! We will be finalizing my schedule tomorrow. I’m very excited about this. Even though I’m not getting paid for it- I don’t care- I will be doing work and helping people and that’s all that matters! I can’t wait to meet everyone.

I’m just really thankful for everyone who has been cheering me on. You all do not realize how much it means to me. I really hope that I will be there for you like you’ve been there for me as I sort and figure things out.

We can rebuild this.

I will leave you tonight with a really awesome quote I found:

If you have a place to go at the end of the day, THAT IS HOME.

If you have people to love, THAT IS FAMILY.

If you have someone whom you can be yourself and accepts and cares for you  in every circumstance, THAT IS A FRIEND.

When you have all of them, THAT IS A BLESSING.

So who says that life is that bad? You just don’t realize it yet but everyone of us is really blessed and rather than being thankful for what we already have, we think of having things that we want rather than what we need. 🙂

alwaysonthebrightside

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

