Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

chasing your childhood dreams. doing things that scare you. and in the end, it will be worth it.

Leave a comment

I applied to my first New York City job today. 

Maybe unemployment isn’t so bad after all. If nothing else, it makes you soul search and figure out what you really want to do. 

I would like to work. I don’t want a job that sucks my soul out each day. I want to get up every morning feeling excited that I’m about to do something that I enjoy and I’m helping to make a difference. Even more so- I want to see what I’m truly capable of. I feel like working on the campaign was just a start. I want to dig a little deeper. As I volunteer in the office, I find how much I enjoy public service and helping out the constituents. It’s so rewarding and makes me realize that I really did choose the right majors. 

There is nothing I want more in this world than be able to return to Albany and live my old life again. I miss it like crazy. I miss my friends. I miss everything I used to do there. I’ve been trying hard to get back to work there, but I haven’t found anything yet. A friend and I talked about living together and I would be thrilled to have her as my roommate. I think we’d have so much fun. My youth leadership group is there. Then reality hits me in the face. The blow stings because I would love to go to UAlbany to receive my Master’s in Public Administration and work during the day and go to school at night. I couldn’t ask for anything better- to make money and attend a top ranked school at low price. 

Yet if I can’t find a job…this can’t happen.

So…that’s why I need to look at other markets. It scares me like crazy because of course I want to go back to what’s safe and familiar to me. If I do move to NYC, DC, or Boston, I’m going to have to start all over again. That fear is what has held me back. Then, over the last couple of weeks, I’ve received some great advice- without even asking for it!

1. Skip work, find a “job” that pays you to “volunteer.”

2. You have so many friends you just haven’t met yet waiting for you in NYC!!

3. You got places to go that you’ll need help driving to.

Not to mention my dad and my aunt are extremely supportive of me moving to NYC and DC. They said it would be the best thing that could happen.

I know that things are really uncertain right now but I have faith that with my friends and family behind my back- things will fall into place.

I want to get into public service.

It’s time to make the connections.

I’m willing to work.

Because I want to make a difference.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

