Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

asserting your independence.

Leave a comment

There are many things that are racing through my brain right now. I feel like it’s the last week in July again, I was offered a job that I would be crazy to refuse, and I have to move to Potsdam in a week.

Everything about this situation is the same except we need to replace Potsdam with Albany. The campaign was sudden. This is sudden. Something that I didn’t plan for. Usually, when it comes to big life changes, I have a plan to execute. Hmm…maybe that’s the big lesson I’ve learned- there’s no such thing as a solid plan in this economy. Yet I know that in two months, I will find solace because everything will be figured out and normal but I know that the life that I want, ideally, is still a little ways away from me. I talked with one of my friends in Oneonta, he still has yet to clear it with his roommates, but he said that it would be fine for me to crash in Oneonta and commute to Albany on the days I have work. My dad offered to pay for a deposit and first month’s rent for me to move back into my old apartment building for two months until I move in with my friend in April. I am so touched by his offer but there’s no way in hell I’d ever let him do that for me. Would it be easier? Yes it would be. Would it also be a waste of money? In my eyes, yes. We’re talking $1300 here for deposit and first month’s rent because February is in 2 days. I could never allow him to do that. If he was to do that, let it be for the place I’d be living in for a year. Not for something so temporary. He also said I could stay in a hotel for the days I’d be interning and that he could help me out with that. On the days I’m not interning, I would move back home in Sullivan County.

Although my last apartment was nothing to write home about- the ceiling always leaked, a bird lived in the walls, there was always a mouse running around, my neighbors had legit bat nets (yes, the image in your head is right, they had fishing nets that they’d use for catching bats), for the most part I slept on an inflatable mattress, and the bathroom light blew out in April so I had to put an office lamp in there for light…I’d give anything to return to Apt. 5D again. It was a hole in the wall but it was my hole in the wall. It felt safe. I didn’t have to depend on ANYONE or ask favors from anyone while I was living there.

I’ve been depending on people since August. It won’t be until April that I will be independent again. I lived with my host family from August to November. I’ve been living with my parents since November. Now I find myself asking my friends for a really insane favor until I can get on my feet. 

It will only be like this for a short time. I have to remember that. I’ve been through tougher things. This will all be figured out. And come April 1st, I will be one happy Alex =D I will have my independence back. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

