Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Sephora vs. Walmart* Concealer Smackdown. Benefit Boing vs. Hard Candy Glamoflauge

Leave a comment

 

Italy. We have great food, amazing culture, beautiful countrysides, interesting history, and outstanding fashion. You’d think that we have it made.

Well, there had to be a trade off somewhere. We have the WORST skin. Any Italian can tell you that there is truth in the “greasy Italian” stereotype. Most people eventually grow out of acne. Italians don’t.

Therefore, I’ve become a concealer connoisseur. I’m also allergic to benzoyl peroxide so I can’t use the heavy duty acne medications or most of the over the counter stuff. If I don’t have concealer on, I will look like a 12 year old starting puberty.

Last March, I was in Sephora looking for the perfect concealer because I was going out on a date with a boy that I haven’t seen for years and well, I wanted to look pretty haha. First dates are a wonderful excuse to buy makeup! Next thing I know, this wonderful Sephora makeup artist sweeps me away into his chair and gives me a makeover. He noticed that my skin needs a heavy duty concealer, so he let me try out Benefit’s Boing, an industrial strength concealer.  I was impressed! Not only did it hide all of my flaws, but I did not have to re-apply the concealer for the whole day! Even though you only get 0.1 oz of product for $18, it lasted me from March to October. My only con is that it gives you a shine-y look if you wear it by itself. You will need a powder if you want a natural look.

Since my unemployment, I’ve been trying hard to save money and although it’s an amazing product, I couldn’t justify spending 20 bucks on concealer. So I was in Walmart* and I wanted to find a nice concealer under $10. I asked the attendant and she recommended Hard Candy’s Glamoflauge for $6. I was skeptical because I did not have a good experience with Hard Candy’s Baked Blush, I thought that product was very cake-y. However, I needed to buy something because I was out in Oneonta and I was getting ready to see a ton of people that I haven’t hung out with in so long. As soon as I walked out of Walmart*, I got in my car, flipped up my sun visor’s mirror and put it on. Just like Benefit’s Boing, a little bit of this goes a VERY long way. It has a very sticky texture and I was surprised because I found that I did not need to re-apply the whole day! Unlike Benefit’s Boing, you get 1.7 oz of product. My only con is that just like with Hard Candy’s Baked Blush, the product has a cake-y finish, so you will definitely need to apply a powder over it if you want a natural look. The pencil that it comes with is also useless.

In a perfect world, I would love to buy Benefit’s Boing. Until I have the budget to splurge on makeup again, I’m satisfied with Hard Candy’s Glamoflauge.

Also, if you’re like me and you’re allergic to benzoyl peroxide, I HIGHLY recommend Burt’s Bees Herbal Blemish Stick for $8. Whenever I feel a breakout coming on, I just glide the stick over the affected area and I wake up the next morning to find that my acne is healing. Yet I’m alarmed right now because I think Burt’s Bees discontinued the product! If you can find it, pick it up! It’s my little miracle worker!

 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

