Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

“Really? That’s how the game is played?”- Super Bowl, 30 for 30, and getting ready for que sera, Saratoga!

Leave a comment

It wasn’t until last December that I finally worked up the guts and told my friend that I didn’t know how to play football. He was surprised and at first, he didn’t believe me. I told him that I understood that the goal of the game is to get a touchdown but it’s the down thing that always gets me confused. He explained and I walked away with a whole wealth of football knowledge. Finally, I was a good American and could go to Super Bowl parties with a purpose other than stuffing my face with yummy, fried food.

You see, we watched a different football in the Aiello household.

^ we watched that kind of football.

My father came to the United States from Sicily when he was a young teenager and honestly, I don’t know anyone else who loves soccermore than him. My earliest memories are of him, sitting on the couch with a yellow legal pad, writing down soccer statistics. He always said “I don’t want to watch a sport if I couldn’t be drafted to play it.” He’s not built like a linebacker and hey- have you ever heard of an Italian basketball player? Yeah, I haven’t either. So we only watched soccer and baseball in the house.

(edit: I just came back from my dad’s house. He was wearing an Argentina National soccer jersey and was watching Fox Soccer Channel. I love that man.)

I don’t know if I’ll ever get as passionate about football as I am about baseball or soccer. I think the damage is done because I don’t have a clue who I can root for. When it comes to baseball, I love my Yankees so much that I proudly say that I bleed pinstripes. We even made sure that in both of my grandparents’ obituaries that the newspaper mentioned that they were both lifelong Yankee fans.

Maybe the Bills. I could root for them. Not for the fact that they’re the only true New York team but mainly because…

Tim Russert loved them. Yep, I’m still that same political science nerd, but I don’t think you all expect that to change anytime soon.

It’s Day 6 of 30 for 30 and I’m still hanging on!

‘Twas a lazy day in the Aiello-Kavarnos household. One of my big challenges with 30 for 30 is that I had to include a lot of my office clothes in the challenge. I’m learning how versatile they are. I decided that after wearing the jeans for two days straight, it was time to give them a break and dress down my trousers. I think I succeeded, it looks like they’re pajama pants.

Again, this picture was taken in my brother’s room. He and my cousin Marinella have a couple of friends up there, including another girl. It was hilarious, because like you all saw in my last post, Michael has wallpapered his room with Maxim girls. The girl said “if you’re going to take a picture, go there, it’s the only clear spot in the room!” Hilarious. I don’t know when the day will come when he realizes that his little spread he has going on is sooooo tacky. I should submit the room to Apartment Therapy.

I’m really excited to go back to work tomorrow and I’m so pumped to spend the week with my family in Saratoga. I get to see my two month old baby cousin for the first time!!! I am so psyched!

Lastly, I just wanted to shout out to everyone who has been helping me along while I get myself settled in Albany. You have all been so wonderful and I honestly don’t know what I did to get such awesome friends and family like you on my side but boy oh boy I hope that one day I will get to return the favor! I’m honestly looking forward to the drive tomorrow. One of my favorite things to do in this world is just sing along to the radio and I get to do that for 2 and a half hours straight tomorrow!

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

