Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

things are going great. and they’re only getting better.

Leave a comment

Yet first things first, I have an adorable baby cousin and she goes to sleep when I sing Radiohead and Van Morrison to her. If that’s not a win, I don’t know what is.

My life isn’t exactly ideal but I am so happy right now. It only took a year and a half but finally I have a job where I’m doing what I love (hellz yeah researching legislation!) in a city that I absolutely adore. I haven’t had that happen to me since DC. It was simply impossible to wipe the smile off my face today, even though I had to commute two hours to get to work.

Yeah, you read that right. It took me two hours to get to Albany from home this morning. I don’t know how I was able to shave that extra half hour, but I’ll take it! Although it wasn’t without a fail in the beginning. As I was driving into Youngsville, I smiled because I was wearing my favorite suit. Then it hit me:

  • Travel bag? Check.
  • Shower Stuff? Check.
  • Laptop? Check.
  • My suits and dresses that should be hanging from my back seat handlebars but they’re not? Uh-oh.

I wish suits could be wrinkle free so I could put them in my travel bag. I can’t even imagine what it would have been like if I got to Albany without my suits since tunics and leggings aren’t exactly what one wears while working in a law firm. That would have been a nightmare. Speaking of suits…I smell a 30 for 30 feature coming up!

(seriously, 30 for 30 features smell….like Tide because this challenge requires you to keep washing your clothes)

How could I not take a 30 for 30 picture in my brother’s room? It oozes class. Especially with the solo cup on the floor.

Besides the Minnetonka Moccasins, my whole suit is from New York and Company. I love this suit to death. Let’s just put it out there because it’s obvious- I have big boobs. I’m a fan of them but they make life soooo hard when it comes to buying suits. It’s very rare that I will find a button up that won’t give me the dreaded boob gap. Believe it or not, the button up I’m wearing will give me a boob gap unless…I put a vest on. The vest perfectly contains the boob gap and I won’t have to worry about giving anyone a peak at the girls.

I was also lucky to find a parking space near work. The area near the law firm is notorious for being congested when it comes to parking and surprisingly as I was driving into Albany, BOOM! A parking spot appeared. However, I had to put my Metal Gear Solid skills to the test (and let me tell you, those skills are really subpar. I always watched my brothers play while I sat back and enjoyed the storyline). <—-nerd. I had to leave my laptop, travel bag, and my suits in my car and I was so worried that someone was going to break in if I left the bags in plain sight. I wasn’t going to go into work looking like a sherpa because something tells me that it would be frowned upon. So I took out my concert blankets and made my backseat look like something right out of Hoarders so that no one would be tempted to steal my stuff. It worked!

I will leave you with this. Go to Caffe Vero on Lark Street and order a Zulla. It’s mocha coffee and half and half. It sounds simple, but golly, it’s delicious…and they throw in a free heart coffee cloud fo’ free! You can’t beat that in this economy! I almost thought it was too adorable to drink. Then my caffeine addiction grabbed hold and proved me otherwise.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

