Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

it takes an ocean not to break.

Leave a comment

Today solidified the fact that people who specialize in researching legislative history are good people in my book. I was trained to how to use LRS, which is basically New York State’s legislative research database. I’m no stranger when it comes to researching legislation, that was basically my job when I interned at the FCC. Just like the staff at the FCC, my trainer at LRS was so nice. Honestly, even though it’s a lot of behind the scenes work, I really enjoy researching legislation. I find the whole process fascinating, especially when it comes to analyzing the intent behind a certain bill. The only downside to the day was that my sinuses are still killing me. I just want to sleep this whole thing off.

I’m getting more excited about things now. It was cute, one of my friends asked me if I had a guy in my life and I told her that my love life is non-existent. I don’t know what it is, but I’m really secure in my life right now. That things are going to be good, no matter what. My friend told me that she wants to take a road trip in the summertime since she’s going to be laid off by then. I realized that I will be too, the internship ends in July. Pre-campaign Alex would have been scared to death about that. Not knowing what’s going to happen next. Post-campaign Alex doesn’t worry about that kind of stuff anymore. I was so worried when I was in Potsdam about the aftermath and what’s going to happen next. I wish I never did. Yeah, it’s good to have a healthy fear of uncertainty but I don’t want to think of things like that anymore. I just want to dive into life and just take each day as it goes…smile, run down the streets, laugh, laugh, and laugh some more, be carefree, lay in the grass, listen to music, hike up mountains, and jump into rivers. In fact- I used to do all of those things. For a while, I thought they weren’t going to happen again. Now I see that no matter what happens to me in life, I will always have that part of myself…

Why?

I don’t think I want to know the answer. It would ruin all of the fun.

This is my “I have already gone through a box of tissues and my sinuses are dragging me down” face. I thought about not doing a 30 for 30 picture because I look like death but what’s one bad picture going to do to me? Nothing. In my hands I have my certificate stating that I’m a rockstar when it comes to researching legislation and Mucinex. Combine the two together and you have one productive Alex when she’s feeling under the weather.

  • Scarf from the Pear Tree (I’ve been wearing this a lot this week)
  • Dress from Forever 21
  • Vest from New York and Company (wore that yesterday)
  • Belt from Forever 21
  • Tights from American Eagle
  • Boots by White Mountain via DSW
  • Flowered bobby pin from H&M

There is a look I want to try out. I’m embarrassed to say it but I had no idea that The National existed until last April. I wish I knew of them sooner because I have clearly been missing out on some great music. High Violet is one of my favorite albums of 2010 and it got me through some pretty tough nights in Potsdam when I was homesick.

Also, I think that Matt Berninger, the lead singer, is dead sexy. His wife is a lucky, lucky woman. This might sound weird but I want to recreate his look…he wore an outfit like this when he was performing in Brooklyn:

I want to see in March if a vest, a tie, and a cute button up would look as good on me as it does on him. I think we’ll make it my first outfit as soon as 30 for 30 is over.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

