Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

$394.10

Leave a comment

That was the amount of my paycheck today. Usually I don’t gloat about these things. Yet after receiving $161.80 from New York State Unemployment every single week since November 15th, I was ecstatic to hold a check in my hands that was rewarding me for a hard day’s work. Although I would have been elated to receive $161.80 every week when I was in high school or college, I found out you can’t do much with $161.80 in the real world, even when you’re living with your parents. First thing I’m doing is that I’m paying for my car insurance, knock off some credit card payments, and get a haircut. I need to save up the rest because I get paid two weeks from now.

(notice that the little brother’s room is still as classy as ever and the Maxim shrine is growing like wildfire. Look at the top of the windows. And the Solo Cup from Monday’s picture is still there. Kid’s turning 18 on Sunday.)

Honestly, that’s the beauty of 30 for 30. I don’t know if I mentioned this before, but you’re not allowed to shop during the challenge. Yesterday, I wrote how much I wanted to re-create Matt Berninger’s look  and I thought that I wouldn’t be able to until 30 for 30 was over because I needed a tie. I decided to attempt to tie my scarf in a way that made it look like a tie. This is honestly one of my favorite outfits I’ve created so far for 30 for 30. The only thing I would change about it is that I wish I was able to wear it with leggings but leggings aren’t exactly appropriate when you’re working at a law firm. This is also a very awkward pose. Then again, I’m a very awkward person to begin with so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that as I was trying to figure out a cool pose, I tripped over myself, noticed that the self timer was going off and it was either now or never. The result is this picture.

  • Vest- New York and Company
  • White Button Up- New York and Company
  • Jeans- American Eagle
  • Moccasins- Minnetonka
  • Belt- Gap
  • Scarf- Maxwell’s, the variety shop every kid from Oneonta visits at least once during their college career.

This weekend, I don’t feel bad that I’m not in Albany and missing the nightlife. Why? I’m still sick right now. If I was living in Albany, I’d be doing what I’m doing right now at home. Staying in. It feels awesome.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

