Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

a cup of coffee. a stoop. and the sunday new york times.

Leave a comment

So can you understand why I want a daughter while I’m still young?

I want to hold her hand, show her some beauty before this damage is done.

But if it’s too much to ask, too much to ask

Then send me a son.

-Arcade Fire: The Suburbs

I never thought I’d see this day but whoa! Arcade Fire’s album The Suburbs is nominated for Album of the Year! Here’s my thoughts on it when I did a little bit of a nostalgic write up on it back in December. It still rings true.

As for The Suburbs, I don’t know what I would have done if I never bought that CD. I didn’t even mean to buy it. I just came back from canvassing Canton and I needed new headphones. During my lunch break, I went into Strawberry Fields Music in Potsdam to see if they had any SkullCandy headphones. It turned out that they didn’t carry SkullCandy, but the owner offered me a discount and who was I to say no to that. As I was checking out, I looked at the wall and I saw that he had The Suburbs on vinyl. I asked if he had it on CD and he gave me the last copy of it. Unfortunately, I didn’t receive a discount on the CD but I could care less about that- whenever I missed home, whenever I missed Albany, I’d go outside, smoke a cigarette, and listen to the album while I looked at the sky. It made things better.

Broken Social Scene. Feist. Arcade Fire.

I’m going to watch the Grammys tonight just because a few of my favorite bands and musicians are nominated: obviously Arcade Fire, Ray LaMontagne, Mumford and Sons, The Black Keys, Muse, Vampire Weekend, and Band of Horses. I have this love/hate thing with the Grammys- I hate them because I feel that they overlook so much talent- for example- Katy Perry, album of the year? I never knew “California gurls, we’re unforgettable, daisy dukes, bikinis on top, sun kissed skin so hot we’ll melt your popsicles” broke so much ground in the music industry! It must have taken a grand total of what…5 minutes to come up with such sophomoric lyrics? It may be a pipe dream to see Mumford and Sons to win Best New Artist, but I’ll still watch and root for the little guy. Even though I’m sure that Justin Bieber will win.

30 x 30= 900

It’s my brother’s birthday. Kid’s 18 now. I’m happy he remembered to register to vote and most importantly, that he registered as a democrat. That makes two of us in our family. Yet, I had to show off the tool wall. If only he put this much effort in his homework.

White Long Sleeve Tee- Kohl’s

Dress- American Eagle

Leggings- Kohl’s (they’re not the same pair because that’s just wrong on way too many levels…I put two pairs of leggings in my 30 for 30)

Belt- Forever 21

Boots- JCPenney

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

