Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

“I meant what I said and I said what I meant. An elephant’s faithful one hundred percent.”

Leave a comment

I still haven’t found my way to Buffalo, Fredonia, Syracuse, Jamestown, Plattsburgh, or Elmira yet. Or Long Island, but even the locals say that I can die without seeing it. All I know is that within the last six months, I’ve had quite the New York State tour and now I know what it means to be a real commuter. I always used to wonder how people commuted from Sullivan County to New York City every day- now that I’ve been commuting two hours to Albany, I realize that after a while, you become numb to the drive. You just don’t care, all you want to do is get from Point A to Point B. A lot of people have asked me whether or not this commuting has affected my work. Honestly, it hasn’t. When I get into the office, I’m ready and raring to go. Although I have to say- I can’t wait to move into an apartment in April! Ah, it’s going to be amazing for my soul!

As you see, life has been pretty busy and that’s the reason why I have been slacking off with my blog. By the time I get home- whether it’s commuting back to Sullivan County or crashing on a friend’s couch in the 518- I’m exhausted. I’m going to NYC and I’m so excited to meet up with my friends and my former colleagues!!! Also, I haven’t been on a subway in nearly TWO YEARS and I’m long overdue. Isn’t that weird, someone being excited to ride on a NYC subway? I can’t help it, it’s one of the reasons why I loved living in DC, I’m a big fan of commuter rail. Not only is it efficient but you get to meet so many people. I loved it whenever I met someone cool on the Metro. 

Since I will be in NYC this weekend, I’m going to semi-unplug myself. I’m not taking my computer with me for the sole reason that I’m going to be hanging out with a lot of people that I haven’t seen in a while. I want to focus my sole attention on them. Rest assured, I will be back late Sunday! 

I also had to make a really hard decision this week. For some long it has been my dream to work at this one “agency.” I’ve been putting in my resume to their HR department for a year and a half. All of a sudden, I receive a phone call. They invited me for an interview. 

My stomach dropped. I was so happy that finally- the phone call I was waiting for came. Then I realized that I would not be able to take the interview. When I accepted my internship, I said that I would commit to it until it ended in July. Not only have I had an amazing experience at my internship so far, I’m working with really nice people. Although it was tempting to say yes to the interview and let things fall from there- I knew I made a commitment and I can’t help it- I’m a girl of my word. 

So what does a girl do? Dream job calls up and you can’t take the interview because of an outstanding commitment. I did what felt natural- I told the truth. I told them about my previous commitment and simply stated that I am (number one) so thankful for the opportunity and (number two) that if the position is still open in the summertime, I would be more than happy to interview with them to see if the position was a fit. I thought I wouldn’t receive a phone call back.

Instead, I received a really nice e-mail saying that once my internship is over, they want me to contact them. I’m very excited about this. 

You see, I had the same thing happen to me before in July. When I interviewed for the Potsdam position, my boss asked me if I was willing to relocate from Albany to Potsdam for the position. I hesitated. It was such a big life change. I’d have to be there within a week. I told him that I would have to think about it. After talking with my family and friends, they all said that I would be insane not to take the opportunity. Albany would be waiting for me when I got back. I also believed that I would be crazy enough not to do it. I accepted the offer, even though it meant relocating to a place I’ve never been to before. My friends threw a little going away party for me later that night. As I was getting ready, I received a phone call from a campaign in Saratoga, asking me if I would interview for them as well.

(for those of you who don’t live in NY, Saratoga is 30-40 min away from Albany, I could have commuted from my apartment and if I needed to, I could have crashed at my cousins’ house in Saratoga)

You literally have no idea how tempting it was to accept the interview. I wouldn’t have to give up my whole life. I wouldn’t have to leave my friends. I’d still be close to my family. Moving up to Potsdam would mean I’d be six hours away from my family for four months. That scared me. 

Yet I made a commitment to the Potsdam campaign. I couldn’t leave them in the cold. Even though it meant I’d have to sacrifice a lot, I gave my word. In hindsight, it was the right decision and I don’t regret it for one second. I also met some pretty swell folks and will be hanging out with a few of them today =D 

Thank you Horton Hatches the Egg for teaching me the biggest life lesson out of them all: never compromise your integrity. 

Oh hey- I’m participating in a challenge called 30 for 30! 

Tuesday

  • White long sleeve tee- Kohl’s
  • Scarf- Maxwell’s
  • Pants- New York and Company
  • Tights- American Eagle
  • Moccasins- Minnetonka via DSW

This was my casual office outfit. It’s not quite Friday so you have to dress up a little bit.

My 3 year old brother calls tights “big sock!”

Thursday

  • Top- H&M
  • Belt- Forever 21 
  • Leggings- Kohl’s (and look at that AWESOME sand stain!)
  • Moccasins- Minnetonka

I’ve determined that Fridays are Awkward Pose Fridays. Hey- I just felt inspired by Thom Yorke ;D

  • Cardigan- PacSun
  • Tank Top- Kohl’s
  • Belt- Gap
  • Jeans- American Eagle

It’s off to NYC! The New York State tour continues!

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

