Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

I get it from my father.

Leave a comment

My friends love to tease me over the fact that I read really fucking depressing books. Not the “oh woe is me” chick novels but I like to read the really heavy historical shit like The Gulag Archipelago. I get it from my father. I can’t remember a day in my childhood where he wasn’t talking about history or showing me his history books. When I was 9, he gave me Where the Buck Stops, a collection of President Harry Truman’s letters, to read. I guess it’s no surprise I have a political science degree and a philosophy degree under my belt. Thanks Dad!

(yep, that would be me and my pops at my college graduation.)

Today wasn’t any different. For the past two years, I’ve been meaning to read Maus and I’ve just never got around to it. It’s a biography about the author’s father and how he survived the Holocaust. What distinguishes Maus from the other Holocaust biopics is the fact that Maus is a graphic novel in which the Jews are depicted as mice and the Nazis are depicted as cats. Initially, I was in the bookstore to purchase V for Vendetta but I figured that it could wait for now. I need to get around to reading Maus. So far it has exceeded my expectations. There’s nothing more that I love in life than a reading a page turner.

This evening my best friend Mary and I had a phone date. We haven’t seen each other since Memorial Day but with her, time means nothing. We’ve been best friends since the 9th grade and have been inseparable ever since. Distance, schmistance, you should have seen us go when she was in Haiti last summer and I was in Albany! Oh the wonders of Skype.

I was talking to her as she was driving back home to Rocha-cha-cha-ester in the snow. I figured that since I couldn’t take a picture with her, then I might as well take a picture of me talking on the phone with her ;D

30 for 30 (holy schnikes! only 4 more days left!)

  • White cardigan- PacSun
  • Scarf- Maxwell’s
  • Dress- Forever 21
  • Belt- Forever 21
  • Sweater Tights- American Eagle
  • Shoes that you can’t see because they were all wet from sloshing around in puddles today- White Mountain
Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

