Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

sidewalks.

Leave a comment

This week, I have spent $120 on gas. And I’m not even done yet. Gah.

Trust me- I cannot wait until April 1st. Not only will Omega and I have our own humble abode (yay!) but I will never have to worry about commuting ever again. Why? Because I will be able to WALK TO WORK. GLORY!

I think that’s when you know you’ve made it in life. When you are able to walk to work. It’s what I miss the most about living in DC. I always took the Metro going to work but unless it was raining, I walked home to George Washington University from the FCC. I don’t really know how to explain it but it was just a fantastic feeling- going outside, walking by the National Mall and the White House, being able to have my own space, dancing along the sidewalk as I listened to the White Stripes- it was a lot better than being a sardine on the Metro.

Those were the days.

Anyway- things are moving forward and that’s all I can ask for. Maybe luck will shine upon us and we will be able to find a place with a STOOP! Ah, it’s all a girl can dream about!

For those who followed me during 30 for 30- scout’s honor, I completed it! I realize that I didn’t take pictures during the last three days of the challenge but I have to say- there’s only so many days that I could be in front of a self timer and take a picture of myself and only myself. And I found out the magic number is 27. However- through those 27 pictures, I received a lot of awesome feedback. My friends told me that 30 for 30 was the reason why they were excited to read the blog and I actually inspired one of my friends to take the 30 for 30 plunge!

I honestly would recommend everyone- boys and girls- to do the challenge. It has completely opened my eyes when it comes to shopping for clothes. While my lovely roomie, Omega, and I were thrifting on Thursday- as I was going through the clothes I noticed that I wasn’t picking out stuff on a whim. I tend to do that a lot whenever I shop. I actually took the time to ask myself- would I be able to remix this? How many outfits could I make out of this dress?

I discovered the beauty of remixing. To tell you the truth- I never got bored. Everyday was exciting because I put myself to the challenge of creating the 30 different outfits. I noticed what’s missing in my closet- I desperately need more scarves, belts, and tights. They can instantly make any outfit a brand new one. As for my shoes, the weather has given me no choice but to wear my mocs everyday because they’re waterproof, they have traction, and they’re warm. Early on in the challenge, I found out the hard way that flats simply were not going to work with this ridiculous winter that we’re still going through in Upstate NY. Only hours after I wore my flats, I felt a cold coming on. After that lovely experience, I vowed not to wear my flats until spring finally comes around. Also- I got to see how versatile my work clothes are. I can’t wait to shock my office by ::GASP:: wearing different dresses and pantsuits!

I would have really liked to have done this challenge when I was in college. I would have had some more fun with it because I wouldn’t have had to include my work clothes. Too bad it didn’t exist before April 2010. I could definitely see me and my friends doing this together. The pictures would have been a lot more fun too because knowing me and my awesome roommates that I was so fortunate to live with (seriously- I am the luckiest girl in the world because I got to live in Higgins 400 and 306)- the photo shoots would have been pretty epic. Drogen’s. Taco Bell. The Beijing House. Steve’s new neighbor’s lawn. River Street. The possibilities would have been endless.

It’s off to pack for the work week! I’ll leave you with one confession:

Whenever I see this sign, a smile instantly appears on my face, and I know I’m home.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

