Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

this will all lead to a room full of balloons (rock your gypsy soul)

Leave a comment

30 more days until I get my apartment. I literally cannot wait. I think I said it before- but I will be jumping up and down, kissing the ground, and will pretty much be the happiest person who ever unpacked a cardboard box and carried a mattress up the stairs. Not to mention, I will be moving in with two of the nicest people in the world and I’m really looking forward to making a real home with them and for them. 

The thing is- and I’ve touched upon this before in other posts but it’s something that goes through my mind: I haven’t had a real place to call home since August. Sure, I lived with my parents and that’s always going to be home for me, but I want a home where I cook for myself. In a neighborhood that I adore. Something that’s truly mine. Being able to walk to work. Knowing that I am steps away from my favorite bars, coffee shops, and parks. Finally, I will be able to get involved with my friend’s political campaign. I’ve been dying to help out with it. I’ll be active again with my youth leadership group. I will be closer to boy-I-fancy which makes me smile. a lot. I will be able to hang out with my friends just like I used to and I won’t need to worry about driving back home to Sullivan County or driving 30 miles to Saratoga. Albany will be my home once more. Most importantly- I won’t need to sacrifice or have others sacrifice to accommodate me. 

That last sentence means more to me than anything. There’s a lot of people that I really owe the world to right now. I don’t know how I’m ever going to repay them but I hope that I will find a way. To everyone who let me stay on their floors/couches/spare bedrooms for the night- I will be forever grateful. To my host family, who let a random stranger that they have never seen or talked with before, stay in their house during one of the most stressful yet wonderful times of my life…you two will always remain so close to my heart and I look forward to the day when I get to hug my host mom again. To my parents who saw me through my unemployment which was easily one of the most dismal times of my life- they kept encouraging me. To my friends who have stuck by my side no matter what. To boy-I-fancy, having you by my side means so much to me. Thank you for putting up with this whole thing and I can’t wait to make all of our plans for adventures a reality. To my roommates- I honestly believe if we can get through these uncertain times- we can do anything. Most importantly, to my cousins- I don’t think I’ll ever know how to repay them. There’s not many people out there who think that letting your 23 year old cousin stay with them while parenting a 4 month old is a good idea- but they did.

On April 7th, I will be leaving Saratoga and I’m going to be moving in with my roommate who currently lives in Clifton Park. We’re going to be there until April 30th- the day we move into our apartment. I’m really excited because I don’t know him that well yet but I’m looking forward to starting a friendship and embarking on an adventure on how we’re going to make living together awesome. 

So let’s go! We only have 30 more days. It may not be the most comfortable of situations but there’s bigger things in this world going on other than me couch surfing. I always believed in making life something more.

This is no exception.

In fact I don’t want to look at April as a countdown. Instead, let’s savor the uncertainty and turn it into something awesome. 

This will all lead to a room full of balloons.

I promise ;D 

(photo credit: All Over Albany)

Note: it’s totally random that this picture came from AOA- I just did a Google Image search and this popped up. Maybe it’s a sign of good things to come. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

