Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

the birds are chirping.

Leave a comment

I think I can say this.

It’s been a long time coming.

But I think it is finally spring.

When that day comes when I’m finally wrinkly, old, grey, and somehow find myself with my future grandchildren, I won’t be pulling a line from the Rugrats’ Grandpa and say that the winter of 2011 was so bad that I had to walk 15 miles to school in the snow without any shoes but! I can at least say that it was the first winter I ever saw in which we had a snowstorm.every.single.week. 

However, I will also say that it was the first spring that I truly appreciated. I always thought that I appreciated spring, but it’s different this year. I find myself listening closely when I hear the birds chirp or that I stand in the sun longer and I stare in amazement at the budding trees and green grass for the fact that I feel that if I don’t take the moment in and revel in it- a nor’easter is going to be called and it all will be gone again. Ok, maybe not that extreme- but in the words of the Silversun Pickups: “I’ve been waiting, I’ve been waiting for this moment for all my life.”

Speaking of which- I rescued my bicycle from my storage unit yesterday. No, it didn’t involve me going over a moat, scaling the castle walls, and defending myself from a fire breathing dragon. It was more so of me, taking my key, unlocking my storage unit, being really excited over the mere sight of seeing my stuff for the first time in months, and shoving my bike into my Rav4. 

Yeah, the fire breathing dragon scenario sounded a lot more awesome didn’t it? For your entertainment…

One day, my Microsoft Paint skills will take me places in life. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

