Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

one of us: WONY Alumni Weekend 2011

Leave a comment

I guess if there’s any word to describe my college radio station, WONY 90.9FM, the first word that comes to mind is “family.” I was in a ton of organizations when I was in Oneonta: I was in a sorority, I was a senator, a tour guide, and I wrote for the newspaper…but nothing felt more like home than being in the radio station. I met my best friends there. I met my roommates there. The reason why I got my internship with the Federal Communications Commission was because I was a DJ…which is still odd to me, given that the FCC and College Radio typically don’t have the best relationship, but hey! It was an awesome internship and it was cool that the FCC was willing to reach out to college radio! How many people can say that a college club changed their lives? I know that I can.

Each year, we all go back to Oneonta to reunite for a weekend. Everyone is always ridiculously happy to see one another. I was really excited because finally, not only was I going to get to live out some great times with my best friends again, but I was also going to get the chance to finally show boy-I-fancy what this club is all about and why it rocks so hard. To tell someone about WONY is one thing, but to see it in action is another. 

Friday was awesome, we got to go out to Happy Hour, ate yummy Chinese food, watched this awesome Canadian TV series called Trailer Park Boys (if you haven’t heard of it, Netflix it, trust me on this one), and then we ventured off to a bar crawl where I got to see friends that I haven’t seen since last WONY Alumni Weekend!

However history has shown us that even the best of things, fall eventually. The Dinosaurs. Rome. And yours truly. I was having an awesome night, but around 1AM, I started to feel sick. I thought it was because I might have had too much to drink. As the night progressed, I found out that this wasn’t because of having too many rum and Frescas. Somewhere along the line, I ate something that didn’t agree with me at all. I knew there was a big problem when I started shivering in boy-I-fancy’s arms and it wasn’t until 6 AM when I could finally fall asleep. I thought that maybe sleep would fix everything. It didn’t. I woke up and my whole body felt like jelly,I still felt nauseous, and I didn’t have an appetite. I was disappointed, it was such a beautiful day on Saturday, my friends are going out to breakfast, and here I am in bed- while boy-I-fancy runs off to get me medicine. I was looking forward to this weekend all year, how could I get sick?

Although the events of the weekend weren’t going as planned, other great things happened. My friends were willing to go the extra mile to make sure that I was comfortable and that I was feeling better. I was in a lot of pain and incredibly nauseous but I still hiked with my friends to watch them play golf off of Table Rock, which was incredibly epic. After that, they drove me to Urgent Care and waited in the parking lot until I was done (turns out I have the stomach bug from hell), put a TV in my room so that if I couldn’t make Saturday’s party, that I would still be entertained, and I received so many well wishes to get better. My old roommate even brought me back fresh-squeezed orange juice, which is my favorite! My anti-nausea medication knocked me out but I still went to the party and I slept on the couch for the most part. My friends were just happy that I made it, even though I wasn’t awake for most of the merriment. Remember when I told you that WONY is family to me? They really are ❤ Most of those friends I mentioned that did all of that nice stuff for me, I haven’t seen or really talked to in months. Yet they still took the time out of their day to take care of me. It just speaks volumes to me on how good their characters are. Without the station, we all would have never met. 

 

Throughout all the craziness, we all still had a wonderful time in Oneonta and I’m already looking forward to the next Alumni Weekend. Also, I’m finally watching Lost! I’m so addicted to it! I always wanted to watch it,  but everyone always told me that if you didn’t watch the first episode…well, you’ll be lost! 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

