Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

fancy book larnin’ and the atmospheres that surround us.

Leave a comment

I can only imagine this happening 30 or so years from now, when my future son(s) and/or daughter(s) come(s) up to me and asks me about my lurid past: 

“So Mom, what did you do when you were 23?” may be the question that I’m asked.

If I am asked, I will then reply: “Sweetie, I helped organize a winning congressional campaign in a year where the Democrats were supposed to all fall and for the next couple of months following the victory, I lived out of my car, slept on a lot of couches, and found out the qualities of what makes a good internet cafe. Yet most importantly, Lady Gaga and Vanilla Rooibos tea can solve any of your problems.” 

I don’t know what will happen after that supposed future conversation or if it will even occur. But if there’s anything I know, even though it may be hard to realize it at times, is that there is always a diamond in the rough. 

The Diamond in the Rough today, as much as I hate to mention it, is Starbucks.

I still don’t have internet at my roommate’s apartment so I’m still camping out at various internet cafes in order to do my freelance work for my parents. Unfortunately, as much as I would love to camp out at the Lark Street cafes, they are only open until 9. Starbucks is open ‘til 11:30. Don’t worry- I promise to be back to supporting my trusty cafes as soon as I get internet in the apartment because my daddy raised me as a good ol’ gal who is a patron of local businesses, just like the one I grew up in. 

Photo tangent of me and the papa bear! I get to see him this weekend. I’m all sorts of excited.

Yet I’ve got to tell you- there is something so calming about this Starbucks that is unlike the Daily Grind or Caffe Vero. I truly feel like I’m a student again even though I’m not. I’m surrounded by people studying and it feels AWESOME. When I was at Panera Bread, I was really stressed out about the whole situation, but I feel really calm here. I felt like this the last time when I was here too. 

And this leads me to one conclusion: I must become a student once more. I’ve  got other reasons too but this is a pretty legit reason. I want to do some fancy book larnin’ again. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

