Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

rattling and humming in Montreal.

Leave a comment

Now lemme tell you somethin’. I’ve had enough of Irish Americans who haven’t been back to their country in twenty or thirty years come up to me and talk about the resistence, the revolution back home. And the glory of the revolution, and the glory of dyin’ for the revolution. Fuck the revolution! They don’t talk about the glory of killing for the revolution. What’s the glory in takin’ a man from his bed and gunnin’ him down in front of his wife and his children? Where’s the glory in that? Where’s the glory in bombing a Rememberance Day parade of old-aged pensioners, their medals taken out and polished up for the day. Where’s the glory in that? To leave them dyin’, or crippled for life, or dead, under the rubble of a revolution that the majority of the people of my country don’t want. Sing no more! 

– Bono

Boy-I-Fancy texted me with some exciting news this morning. We will be roaming the streets of Montreal together this July to see U2 in concert! I’m all sorts of excited because at first, we had no idea if he would be able to go to the concert with me. The official site said that the tickets for the Ground Floor were sold out. I bought my ticket back in January. However, StubHub came to the rescue and we found him a ticket! I’ve never been to Montreal before but I hear that it is one awesome city to be in. We will also be joined by one of my friends from the North Country so there is no doubt about it- it’s going to be a great time. 

There’s just a couple of things we need to get squared away. Believe it or not, Boy and I do not have passports to our names so we have to get those since the border rules have changed. You either have to have an enhanced driver’s license or a passport to get into Canada now. I figure that the passport would be the best way to go in the long run because one day I will find myself with a job that will let me take a paid vacation and I fully intend on going to Italy with my father when that day finally comes around. The enhanced driver’s license seems like a waste of time and money. 

After that, we will need to find some lodging. I’m looking at hostels and hotels and weighing the pros and the cons of them. The hostel will be the cheap way to go and sounds like a great way to meet new people but a hotel would be more accommodating. If anyone has any tips about where to stay and what to do in Montreal, let me know! The more I research about the city, the more I get excited about it. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

