Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

fish fry and learning how to change your own oil.

Leave a comment

It may be cold, rainy, and a little bit snowy here in the Catskills- but I have to say, I’m still loving the fact that it is 6 PM and it’s daylight outside.

(more so because I still need to clean out my car for tomorrow Easter Trek to Whitney Point but shhhhh ;D)

I am home for the fabled holiday in the Aiello-Kavarnos family- Divorce Easter Weekend! My parents have been divorced since I was 13 and I have to tip my hat to them for never making us choose one parent over the other whenever it came to the holidays. They’ve always done their best to shake up the holiday schedule so that we can share the holidays with the both of them. For example, we’re celebrating Easter with my mom today and we will be celebrating Easter with my father tomorrow.

But of course, every Easter weekend has to start with Good Friday. I’m just going to put it out there, I am your Catholic who only goes to church for baptisms, weddings, and funerals. I’ve only abstained for Lent one time and that was only because all of my friends in high school were doing it and I didn’t want to be left out (I gave up candy that year). By the looks of it, I’m one horrible Catholic, but for some odd reason- I can’t escape the Catholic guilt about abstaining from eating meat on Good Friday. I came dangerously close to ordering a bacon, egg, and cheese breakfast sandwich at the Daily Grind but I held my ground and ordered a bagel with chive cream cheese. 

Before my best friend Brian and I ventured off to greener pastures in Sullivan County, I told him that I wanted to take an adventure. Every time I go through Central Avenue in Albany, I always pass Bob and Ron’s Fish Fry. You seriously can’t miss the thing on Central with its sweet sign.

My Catholic guilt sent me a message. It said that it was time to give Bob and Ron’s a try. Brian came with me and we stepped into what is, apparently, an Albany institution for over 50 years! The service was really friendly which is always a plus with me. I ordered the Fish Fry Special with Fries, Macaroni Salad, and a Lemonade. For some reason, I think that Lemonade and Fish Fry always go well together. 

It was the first time I ever had fish fry served on a hot dog bun. Personally, I could have done without the bun, but the fish was cooked perfectly inside. It wasn’t greasy at all. My only wish is that the batter had a little more spice to it. I’d definitely say to give Bob and Ron’s a try, if nothing but for the really friendly service.  I think that I will stop there again on a day when it isn’t so busy. Yet if you’re looking for a great fried fish dish (that rhymed!), head on over to Saratoga and order Fish and Chips at The Local. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed and even after eating a wonderful Easter dinner, my mouth is already watering for it. 

Today was a milestone in my life. My brothers taught me how to change my oil. I learned a couple of things:

1. Not only do you need your oil and filter, you also need a pail for the oil to drip in, cardboard to soak up the excess oil, and some clothes that you really don’t care about ruining. Paper towels are also key. And I need to find a ratchet. Or a friend who has a ratchet.

2. I need to see this again before I take the challenge on myself. 

3. When I do attempt this in Albany, without a doubt, I’m doing it in Washington Park. It’s flat there. 

It’s a little dirty and time consuming, but I have to say, it’s more satisfying than sitting in a waiting room and reading magazines. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

