Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

storage.

Leave a comment

Although its been a week and two days, I’m still moving into my apartment! One of the challenges that I’ve run into is that it’s hard to move from a studio to a three bedroom apartment for the fact that a studio is all one room with a separate bed area and living area and now I have a single bedroom to myself. It’s still very overwhelming but I hope that by Wednesday, I will have an awesome, organized room. 

Speaking of awesome, organized room, I had a huge case of buyer’s remorse, even though it was for something I needed. I really needed storage, but I wanted something that is functional, attractive, CHEAP, and goes along with my Hotel Yorba theme. 

(I always wanted to decorate a room with a red, black, and white color scheme and I was inspired to do this by The White Stripes. I named the theme “Hotel Yorba,” after my favorite White Stripes song.)

I ended up getting this from Target: 

And of course…

I only bought two of these bad boys for now. I’m going to wait and see if I will be needing more. After I put the whole thing in the cart, I looked at Brian and I said “you know, we should go to WalMart, Home Depot, and Loews just to double check to make sure that I got this for a good price.” 

Brian then smacked me with the sword of truth, just like any best friend since the first grade would. “Alex, we could do that. And you would end up wasting money because we could find this at a better price and you’d be wasting the rest on gas.” He was right. Have you all ever had buyer’s remorse after buying something you needed? 

(Side note: It’s funny. I grew up in the middle of NOWHERE. Seriously. As of 2000, my hometown had 296 people living in it. There was only one Wal Mart in the whole county vs. Albany that seems to have a Wal Mart every 5 miles. We had to drive a hour or more to get to a mall in either Middletown, Binghamton, or Scranton whereas now I have two really nice malls within a 10 minute drive. It’s so funny how I’m getting used to big box conveniences.)

We then went to Jo-Ann Fabrics where I got some canvas and red and black ribbon so I could make myself a message board! Pictures will be coming soon but I’m really proud at the way it turned out! However, I found out some really sad news, in terms of my future DIY endeavors. I accidentally left my craft box in my storage unit and what lil’ ol’ me found out is that when you leave craft glues and paints in an Upstate NY storage unit for 8 months, they will go bad. 

I also ended up claiming my birthday gifts from Sephora and The Body Shop…even though it’s not my birthday yet. =X It was funny though! I was dressed up in sweats because I just finished dogsitting Boy-I-Fancy’s dog for the weekend and I didn’t look festive at all but the salespeople enthusiastically said “HAPPY BIRTHDAY!” I felt really awkward afterwards because I gave a sorta-excited-but-holding-back-a-little-because-it’s-not-May-20th-yet “thanks!” I think they thought I wasn’t having a good birthday haha. I don’t know how the actual day will go down, but I’m going to be a great smelling individual with my free gifts:

Sephora is giving out a Philosophy Shower Gel/Shampoo/Bubble Bath Gel called “Happy Birthday, Beautiful” and it smells like Vanilla Birthday Cake! 

I got some shampoo at The Body Shop. If you’re part of their rewards program, you get $10 off a purchase for your birthday. It smells awesome. And I got 14 oz of shampoo for $3, so you can’t beat that! 

Well, it’s time to build this cubicle! 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

