Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

test kitchen: eggplant and white bean soup

Leave a comment

My two favorite food blogs are Stone Soup and Cheap Healthy Good. For months, I’ve had my eyes on so many of their recipes and now that I finally have a kitchen again, I can see if the recipes taste as good as the look on the zee internetz! When Jules of Stone Soup posted a recipe on how to make Eggplant and White Bean Soup, I knew that I had to try it out. Then Cheap Healthy Good adapted the recipe, replacing the liquid that the beans are coated in with chicken broth for soup stock.  I decided I liked the adaptation and felt a little adventurous. Prior to last night, I never made fresh soup before. 

I was so excited to make up my shopping list, yet I was cringing at the same time. Have you ever noticed when you move into a new place, that the first grocery bill is always the most expensive? I needed to stock up on the necessities, such as olive oil, marinades, salad dressings, Parmesan cheese, and of course, Frank’s Red Hot. The Price Chopper that is within walking distance of my apartment isn’t exactly known for its variety when it comes to food selection. I wanted to buy humanely raised chicken but when I saw that it was $8, I couldn’t put it in my cart. When I lived in Saratoga, that kind of chicken was $5 or $6, or sometimes even cheaper than that. I’m going to check out Cardona’s on Delaware and see how their poultry is priced. They only sell humanely raised meat and poultry. I went for the regular chicken instead even though I know how cruel and inhumane the slaughtering processes are. It was only $3 and was easier on my wallet. I tried to ease my conscience by buying cage-free eggs and humanely raised chicken sausage from Cohoes, a town only 15-20 minutes away from Albany. The sausage was only $3.99, so I am very excited to try it out!

I was also able to find 6 ears of corn for $1.98! I know this is going to sound like I’m from the boondocks, but I don’t care. I am from the boonies and I love to shuck corn. People always look at me as if I have three heads when I say that but it’s the truth. My family used to go out on my grandparents’ porch in the summertime and shuck corn together. It was a great time!

With great power comes great responsibility and with 6 ears of corn, you have to figure out what to do with it so it doesn’t go bad. I chopped up an ear of corn and put it in the soup. Eggplant is already a sweet vegetable and I thought the corn would compliment it nicely. It did. It took me two hours to make, prep time included, but I was so happy after because I never made soup before, and this recipe was from two of my favorite food blogs! It’s delicious and I’m very excited to eat it for lunch tomorrow. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

