Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

where I see myself in ten years.

Leave a comment

(I believe that you are nothing without your dreams. as I study for the GREs, I like to think about what I’m doing this for)

When I’m 34, I hope to have more experiences like this…

(^me in Montreal, with my bicycle, stumbling upon a Caribbean Festival. This is my favorite picture of myself for I know my smile is there because I’m doing what I love- and that’s to explore!)

I love exploring new cities, especially by bicycle. I really hope that I will receive the chance to do more of that. If I get the chance to go to Europe, I want to go to Sicily (and the rest of Italy of course!), France, Ireland, England (maybe during Glastonbury?), Germany, Spain, Denmark, and Greece. I also want to go on a Canadian tour and visit Toronto, Ottawa, Nova Scotia, and Vancouver. Japan would be awesome, especially with my old roommate, Carolyn- I can only imagine we would have a crazy time there. As for the great United States, I want to go to the Grand Canyon, Yosemite, San Francisco, Portland, Seattle, LA, Chicago, either Memphis or Nashville, Tennessee, and! Go to some awesome southern city and have real southern fried chicken. 

When I’m 34, I hope to live in a city…after growing up in the country, even though it is beautiful, living in a city aligns more with my lifestyle. I don’t want to rely on my car, in fact, I hope that I will live somewhere where I would be able to sell it since I won’t need it or have a one car household. Honestly, if I really needed a car, I could just rent one. I really enjoy public transportation and I want to live somewhere where I would be able to commute via foot, bike, or train. When I was living in DC, I was the happiest I’ve ever been because I got the chance to do that every single day. I lived for my train ride in the morning and my half hour walk back home.

Adding to that, when I’m 34, I want to have a bicycle collection…consisting of one mountain bike, one hybrid, and one road bike. More than likely, I will also need one of these….

^ some people may say I’m planning to have a hippie family. I say, I just want to teach them about the importance of sustainability and give them a love of the outdoors.

When I’m 34, I really hope that I will have danced a lot. Especially in the rain. 

When I’m 34, I hope that my closet is full of hiking and camping gear because I hope to have hiked up Mount Marcy and gone rock climbing several times.

When I’m 34, I hope that I will make a lot of my food from scratch. Not because it’s the “hip” thing to do but because of the fact that my grandfather made his own meatballs and tomato sauce every single week. It would be a rare occasion in which both of sets of my grandparents made their food from a box. They never made a bad meal; dinner was always fresh and delicious. I want to bring that back into my life. I also hope that I will have a garden in which I will grow my own fruits and vegetables, again- not because it’s the “hip and green” thing to do, but it’s what my family has done for years. We always had fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden. 

When I’m 34, I hope that I will have performed in a play. I really miss doing theater. The last play I was in was during my freshman year of college. That needs to change.

When I’m 34, I hope that I will finally have a dog. 

When I’m 34, I hope that I will still be an active volunteer in my community and that I will still be involved in HOBY. I think it’s so important to get involved in youth groups- I know mine changed my life for the better, it’s only right that I share my gift with others. 

(^me, with my junior staff, Amanda, and the outstanding ambassadors that we had the opportunity to work with during the 2011 HOBY New York East Seminar. One of my kids aims to be president. Even though he’s a Republican, haha, I hope that he will find success in politics. It is a field that has given me so much and I hope that he will find his bliss in it as well.)

When I’m 34, I hope that my professional and academic paths will have led me to a position in which I will go to work everyday knowing that I’m doing something I’m passionate about. I was able to do it once last year- so I know a job like that is out there. I hope that I will be able to do it again…except with benefits ;D 

When I’m 34, I hope that my family is strong, loving, and that we’ll always be there for each other. By 2021, my 6 year old brother will be (hopefully) a licensed driver and the rest will be in middle school. My other brothers will be 32 and 28. I really want the best for them and hope they all will have wonderful lives.

When I’m 34, I hope that I will not have children…just yet. I feel that in order to have a happy family, first- I need to find the right guy who shares my goals, encourages me to learn more about the world, and also has a beautiful vigor for life- don’t know when that’s going to be but hey! That’s what living life is for! Second, I need to do these things on this list before I have kids. I feel that in order to be the best mom I can be, I need to expand my world so I can one day expand theirs as well. Lastly, I want to have children when I know that finances will not be an issue. With the economy the way that it is, I know that I am not in the position that I thought I would be when I graduated college. I want to make sure that we have a comfortable life and I feel that will happen when I’m 35 or 36. 

And finally…when I’m 34, I hope that I will have more than just a white belt in Tae Kwon Do.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

