Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Four

Leave a comment

Aesthetic- concerning the appreciation of beauty

I met a person who did not appreciate the aesthetic qualities of nature. Needless to say, we don’t talk anymore.

Ambiguousdoubtful or uncertain, can be interpreted several ways

The American people are becoming very ambiguous about the debt ceiling crisis; it seems that all the politicians are doing is arguing back and forth instead of working towards real progress.

Ameliorate- to make better; to improve

We decided when we got back together that we would communicate with each other more to ameliorate the relationship. 

Analogous- similar or alike in some way; equivalent to

In my eyes, Starbucks and Dunkin Donuts are analogous to each other. Both businesses brew sub par coffee and charge you exorbitant prices for it. I’d rather support my local coffee shops, buy their quality beans, and brew tasty coffee at home. Believe it or not, it is cheaper. 

Antagonize- to annoy or provoke to anger

If I ever wanted to antagonize my brother, all I need to do is hide his hair gel. 

Apathy- lack of interest or emotion

It can be assumed from the low turnout that voters were apathetic about the result of this election. 

Assail- to attack; assault

The robber realized he made a bad life choice when he tried to rob one of the members of the Tae Kwon Do squad. Instead of stealing a pocketbook, he was assailed by 20 black belts. 

Belfry- bell tower, a room in which a bell is hung.

Quasimodo lived in a belfry

Bolster- to support, prop up

The finance team had raised enough money to bolster the campaign’s operations. 

Interregnum- period between reigns

There was an interregnum after the college president suddenly resigned. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

