Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Five

Leave a comment

Abase- to humble, disgrace

After feeling the backlash from his Craigslist sex scandal, Chris Lee, the abased former Congressman, has kept a low profile. 

Abscond- to leave secretly

The soldiers absconded from the enemy side’s headquarters, after planting the bomb that would hopefully assassinate the leader and end the war.

Hoary- very old, whitish or gray from age.

There will come a day when my hair will be so hoary that I will not have the enthusiasm to dye it. At that point, I embrace aging gracefully. 

Licentious- immoral, unrestrained by society

Even though it is illegal, prostitutes still engage in licentious acts.

Lumber- to move slowly and awkwardly

As a fast walker, I can’t stand being behind people who lumber on the sidewalks.

Machination- plot or scheme

To make drivers aware of cyclists on the road, the local bicycle coalition organized a machination to meet up in the park at a certain time and bike around the city.

Occlude- to stop up; prevent the passage of

I stuck a patch onto my bicycle tube to occlude air through my tire.

Palliate- to make less serious, ease

Some women opt for epidural to palliate their pain during labor. 

Propriety- the quality of behaving in a proper manner; obeying rules and customs

It is important, before one signs a lease or agreement to live with roommates, to have an honest talk and discuss what the propriety should be in the domicile.

Salubrious- healthful

It is important to buy free range meat because since they do not have any fillers in them, making your meal more nutritious and salubrious. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

