Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Six

Leave a comment

Wow, I didn’t know people would like and reblog these posts, so I guess I’m doing something helpful! Thanks for the love! I would definitely recommend taking these words and making your own sentences out of them though. As I’ve been studying, I’ve found that I recall words better if I “own” them rather than memorize them. 

So let’s keep a good thing going, shall we?

Also, this weekend I plan to write about how I’m studying for the GRE Math Section.

August- dignified, grandiose

The New York State Capitol takes my breath away every time I step into it because of its august architecture. 

Cupidity- greed, strong desire

Bernie Madoff was sentenced to 150 years in prison because of his cupidinous Ponzi scheme.

Diaphanous- allowing light to show through, delicate

Although I love the look of diaphanous curtains, I had to buy blackout curtains for my room because the sunrise kept waking me up around 5AM.

Decorous- proper, tasteful, socially correct

When one goes to a funeral, it is decorous to dress modestly out of respect for the deceased.

Ingenuous- showing innocence or childlike simplicity

My four year old brother brother was very ingenuous when I was leaving to go back to Albany. When he saw me get into my car he said “Allie don’t go bye-bye!” I told him that I had to go to work and he replied “ok, I’ll see you later!”

Liberal – tolerant or broad minded; generous or lavish

My mom always gives me liberal amounts of mashed potatoes. 

Lissome- easily flexed; limber; agile

With time, yoga conditions your body to become lissome

Mores- fixed customs or manners; moral attitudes.

My partner became very jealous after he saw a European man kiss my hand; however I had to explain that it’s just part of the mores of how Europeans greet each other. 

Officious- too helpful, meddlesome

In each campaign, there is always one officious volunteer who you must try to control before he or she hijacks your operations. 

Requite- to return or repay

I don’t mind the fact that you owe me money, I know that you’ll requite me sooner or later. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

