Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Seven

Leave a comment

Bifurcate- to divide into two parts

The construction workers bifurcated the road to make one lane for cars and the other for bicycles. 

Boor- crude person, one lacking manners or taste

I hate hanging out with that boor; he never knows when to stop with the fart jokes.

Convoluted- intricate and complicated

When a relationship becomes so convoluted that it turns both parties into toxic characters, it is best to end it. 

Judicious- sensible; showing good judgment

My friend in DC always has judicious advice to offer. 

Knell- sound of a funeral bell; omen of death or failure

When a Pope dies, you will hear the knell from the Vatican’s bell tower to alert the people of his passing. 

Meticulous- extremely careful; fastidious; painstaking

In order to perform well on the GRE Math section, I must be meticulous with my arithmetic to ensure I’m not making any careless errors. 

Puerile- childish, immature, or silly

I consider it puerile to get into fights on Facebook. 

Repast- meal or mealtime

I used to dread repasts at the college dining hall because of the poor quality of the food. 

Stasis- a state of static balance or equilibrium; stagnation

The Statue of Liberty is in stasis. Chicago won’t be taking it anytime soon. 

Tyro- beginner; novice

You can tell from my stances that I am a tyro in Tae Kwon Do. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

