Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Eight

Leave a comment

Ohhhhhh snap kids, it’s time to get our learn on!

I should never type that sentence ever. ever. again. 

Also, I decided to up the ante. Instead of doing 10 words a day, I decided it would be best to do 15 a day. I’m testing at the end of September and when I worked the math out, I see that I can blast through these vocab words by the end of August if I do 15 a day and then I can review them all later. If anyone has any thoughts about this method, feel free to share!

Abjure- to reject; abandon formally

I’m sure that that some graduate schools will sent me letters of abjuration.

NOTE: Abjure can be easily confused with Adjure which means “to charge, bind, or command earnestly and solemnly, often under oath or the threat of penalty.”

Hapless- unfortunate; having bad luck

Don’t consider yourself hapless because you’re not getting any job offers. Since the economy has tanked and budgets have shrunk, employers are more apt to give jobs to those with more experience than to fresh, college grads.

Keen– having a sharp edge; intellectually sharp; perceptive

Alex the parrot was very keen. He could pick up an object and determine what kind of matter it is made up of. 

Itinerant- wandering from place to place; unsettled

Since I haven’t lived in the same zip code for more than six months since May 2009, I guess you could describe me as itinerant.

Jargon- nonsensical talk; specialized language

I’ve learned more jargon working in the political field than I ever did in a political science class.

Jettison- to discard; to get rid of as unnecessary or encumbering

It makes me sick when I see boats jettison trash into the water. 

Jocular- playful; humorous

There is no doubt about it, my college friends were some of the most jocular people I know. I don’t think I’ll ever meet anyone else who would ever feel comfortable playing baseball in a car.

Levity- an inappropriate lack of seriousness; overly casual

If there’s one thing I admire about Rob, it’s that he can always bring levity to any serious situation. 

Mendicant- beggar

We get a lot of mendicants hanging outside of our building at night. 

Missive- a written note or letter

This past weekend, I had to write a missive that I hoped I never had to write, but I didn’t have a choice. I could not continue to be treated like the only girl in the world when I apparently wasn’t. 

Obdurate- hardened in feeling; resistant to persuasion

There’s no doubt about it, when I found out about the deception, I was obdurate. I could not ignore what I saw and pretend like it never happened. 

Plastic- able to be molded, altered, or bent

Silly Putty is very plastic; you can mold it into just about anything. 

Prodigal- lavish; wasteful

I can’t watch shows like Real Housewives of Orange County. Their prodigal lifestyles annoy me. 

Pulchritude- beauty

If some guy told me that he admired me for my pulchritude, before coming across this GRE flashcard, I wouldn’t know what to say. I would have thought that he was saying that I was ugly since, by its spelling and pronunciation, it doesn’t seem like a word you would use to flatter someone.

Variegated- varied; marked with different colors. 

I enjoyed the variegated building I saw in Montreal; each windowpane was a different color of the rainbow. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

