Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Nine

Leave a comment

So what’s a girl to do when the S&P lowers the country’s credit rating and everyone is predicting the economipocalypse?

Study for the GRE, of course! 

Aerie- a nest built high in the air; an elevated, often secluded, dwelling.

If I were a bird, I’d build my aerie high up in the trees so predators couldn’t harm my eggs.

Apocryphal- of questionable authority or authenticity

My old professors used to warn about using Wikipedia as a source for my papers because they considered the information to be apocryphal.

Articulate- able to speak clearly and expressively

There’s no question about it; in order to win an election you must be able to speak articulately to connect with voters. 

Forestall- to prevent or delay; anticipate

The rain forestalled my plans to bike in the afternoon. 

Inchoate- not fully formed; disorganized

I’m glad that I am applying to graduate school now instead of right after I graduated in 2009. When I was an undergrad, my career plans were inchoate and I wasn’t sure of what I exactly wanted to do. Now that I’ve had almost two years of working in the political field, I know the direction I want to point my career towards. 

Inculcate- to teach; impress in the mind

It is clear that Governor Rick Perry inculcated his values and talking points upon his 30,000+ audience made up of Evangelical Christians. 

Indolent- habitually lazy or idle

I can’t stand people who complain about their jobs and are too indolent to look for other opportunities. Yeah, it may be a pain to job search every night after work, but you may come across a job that you may actually like!

Impecunious- poor; having no money

While I have been impecunious for most of 2011; I was rich in political experience. I know that one day all of this hard work will pay off!

Laconic- using few words

While I am very talkative; my brother Raymond is laconic. 

Lapidary- relating to precious stones or the art of cutting them

The lapidarist was very talented in cutting precious stones into beautiful pieces of jewelry. 

Panegyric- elaborate praise; formal hymn of praise 

The victim’s panegyric for the firefighter who saved his life brought everyone in the room to tears. 

Upbraid– to scold sharply

If I had known that he was groping my best friend at the bar, I would have upbraided him and ended things then and there. 

Wan- sickly pale

I was concerned when I saw her wan skin; she was so healthy the other week! 

Wraith- a ghost or specter; a ghost of a living person seen just before his or her death

As geeky as this sounds; I know that you have to kill a lot of wraiths in the Elder Scrolls games.

Zenith- the point of culmination; peak

Even though I already have a campaign win under my belt; I do not believe I’m at the zenith of my career. There is still so much more good work to do! 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

