Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Ten

Leave a comment

This day is brought to you by Pearl Jam’s Ten. I don’t know why, but I have been obsessively listening to the album today. Maybe it’s because this is Lesson Ten?

Actually, that’s not the reason at all, I had to look back at the blog to figure out what number I’m at. But I’ve got to say, I’m a big fan of random coincidences.

Dilatory- intended to delay

My four year old brother decided to resort to dilatory measures. He hid my keys to prevent me from leaving him to go to Albany. 

Dilettante- someone with an amateurish and superficial interest in a topic.

Dilettantes get under my skin; they claim to be experts of the 90’s grunge scene when they’ve only listened to “Smells Like Teen Spirit” on the radio.

Flag- to decline in vigor, strength, or interest

If you don’t eat before you go on a long bike ride, your stamina will flag

Inure- to harden; accustom; become used to

As hard as it can sometimes be, I’m inuring to living life without my former partner in crime. 

Invective- abusive language

The bums who frequently camp by my apartment building shout invectives at passers-by almost every night. Needless to say, I call the police a lot. A girl has to get her beauty rest these days. 

Latent- potential that is not readily apparent 

I always recognized the latent ambition inside of you. One day you will flourish when presented with the right opportunity. 

Pare- to trim off excess; reduce

Many companies have pared off their non-essential employees to cut back on costs. 

Phalanx- a compact or close-knit body of people, animals, or things.

The phalanx of philosophy students would often study and socialize together. 

Placate- to soothe or pacify

My dog always knows how to placate me when I’m having a bad day. No matter how mad or sad I am, she will always wag her tail and cuddle with me while we watch TV.

Prescient- having foresight

The psychic claimed to be prescient about the future. 

Quiescent- motionless

When a deer sees headlights, they either are quiescent or the bolt away from the road. 

Sacrosanct- extremely sacred; beyond criticism

Cows are sacrosanct in the Hindu religion. 

Syncopation- temporary irregularity in musical rhythm

The musicians were sick and tired of playing their songs to 4/4 time so they decided to tweak them of with spurts of syncopation

Taciturn- silent; not talkative

Compared to Bono and the Edge, the other two members of U2 are taciturn and tend to shy away from the public eye. 

Tome– book, usually large and academic

The professor used to boast about researching from his many tomes

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

