Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

I think my spaceship knows which way to go

Leave a comment

I seem to change my mind about where I want to go to school EVERY.SIX.SECONDS.

I can’t help it though- there’s never been a time in my life in which I’ve truly felt that I can go anywhere (that is, if I get the GRE score I need).

You see, when I was younger, I didn’t get out of New York State very much, other than to go shopping in Pennsylvania because we live 20 minutes from the border. As a result, I only applied to schools in state and I didn’t send any applications out of state. I don’t regret my decision; I loved Oneonta. Even though it was a hour away from home, I treated it as if it was 3,000 miles away. Unless I was on break, I never went home to visit my parents because I was involved in so much on campus. 

When it came time to think about how I was going to fulfill my capstone for my political science major, I had two decisions:

1. Do the Assembly/Senate internship in Albany

2. Spend a summer in Washington D.C.

The funny thing is, the girl who spent her whole life in upstate New York knew that even though interning in the New York State Legislature would be a fantastic opportunity-maybe even one that could lead to future job- it was time to see other pastures. I felt that I would have cheated myself if I stayed in New York and that if I didn’t do something crazy like spend a summer in a city that I only visited for a hour during my high school senior trip, I wouldn’t have grown as a person. I was right. Two years later and I’m still confident that I made the right decision- I wouldn’t trade my DC experience for anything. 

Now- even though I love Albany- I feel that urge inside of me once more. Next year, it’s time to go and expand my view of the world. 

  • I’m thinking about going back to the DC area because there’s something about that city that makes my eyes light up and makes me feel as if I can do anything. My best friends are there; as well as my great former colleagues. I love their public transportation system and how they are embracing bicycle lanes. When I visited in June, I knew that there was more for me there than just the Summer of 2009.
  • Bloomington, Indiana- I don’t know much about it but it has the best MPA program as well as the best Environmental Policy specialization.
  • Montreal- every time I think about going to school there- I feel that it would be so perfect. I loved the city when I visited last month- the bike lanes are to die for and I love how it is such a progressive city. Even though I’d have to learn French, I don’t think I would mind going to school there….and maybe one day, becoming a Canadian citizen.
  • New York City- if you can make it there, you can make it anywhere. I feel so weird- I’ve only visited NYC and have never lived there, not even for an internship. 
  • Portland, Oregon- everyone says I would thrive there and I believe it. From what I’ve researched about the city, it seems that I would fall in love with it and never want to leave. 
Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

