Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

birth control: aka I’ll never win.

Leave a comment

boys will never understand.

This has been a weird couple of weeks for me. I feel like normal me again. From April until the end of August, I would have INTENSE mood swings. It was almost as if anything could set me off and when I was set off, hell hath no fury. I remember my cousin warning me and my ex when I started birth control that I would be going crazy for the first three months. I disregarded it even though from past experiences with Plan B, I have seen that I can be a loose cannon when there’s a bunch of extra hormones in my body. I was on Ortho TriCyclen Lo and even though I wasn’t feeling like myself, I decided to give the pill the three months it deserved so my body could get used it to it. I never did though; I always felt like I was in an emotional prison. 

In August, I knew it was finally time to switch the pill and it was good to know that I wasn’t making excuses as to why I would get such horrible mood swings. She told me that the problem with Ortho TriCyclen Lo is that over a month, it releases three different hormones and some people’s bodies have a hard time getting adjusted to it which is the reason she doesn’t like to prescribe it. She recommended I should try Loestrin. 

I can’t tell you how much my life, emotionally, has improved with Loestrin. I don’t know how to describe it but I feel in control. The mood swings are gone and even though I have a ridiculous amount of stuff on my plate this month (organizing a food and hygiene drive, campaigning, studying for the GREs), I have a clear mind about it all. I feel like I can do anything now.

It sucks though. Today, I found out that this pill isn’t right for me because it’s not doing what it needs to do physically, to put it politely, and it’s something that my body won’t get used to. I think I’m going to have to explore other options. I think I honestly have no choice but to go for a Copper IUD because it doesn’t release hormones. I could try another pill but at this point, I’m afraid to. I don’t want to get to that place again yet I don’t want the risk of getting pregnant. 

Some people may think that this post is in the “TMI” category but I am writing this because I will never forget how relieved I was when I was in my doctor’s office knowing that all this time, it wasn’t my fault that the mood swings were happening, it was the pill’s. If this will help another girl relate, then my job is done. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

