Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

GRE Vocabulary Practice: Lesson Sixteen

Leave a comment

Twenty more days until I take this test! The pressure is on! 

Antipathy- extreme dislike

I have antipathy towards cyclists who bike the wrong way down one-way streets. 

Cabal- a secret group seeking to overturn something

In World War II, many cabals were formed to take down the Nazi regime. 

Discern- to perceive or recognize

I can discern the difference in taste between Pepsi and Coke. 

Fallow- dormant; unused

It has been a year since Albany Planned Parenthood moved its location to Central Avenue and still the old Lark Street location remains fallow. 

Gestation- growth process from conception to birth 

The normal gestation period for a human is nine months and I hope to not experience that for a good 10 years. 

Glib- fluent in an insincere manner; offhand; casual 

I didn’t decide to rush that sorority because I felt that the girls were all glib

Hyperbole- purposeful exaggeration for effect

There are a lot of hyperbolic moments in the movie, Machete. For example, whenever Machete kills someone, an obscene amount of blood pours out of the victim. 

Ignoble- having low moral standards; not noble in character; mean.

I believe anyone who destroys a bike that is parked on a bike rack is ignoble. 

Imbue- to infuse, dye, wet, or moisten.

I didn’t like the color of this dress, so I imbued it with fabric dye and now it is a brilliant blue!

Impious- not devout in religion.

After my parents’ divorce and realizing that my personal views are very different from the rules within the Catholic church, I became impious. However, I do remain very spiritual and do my best to treat others the way I would want to be treated.

Lugubrious- sorrowful; mournful; dismal

The ASPCA commercials are always lugubrious

Multifarious- diverse

I hear a multifarious amount of noises from my window each night. I’m glad to say that I can sleep soundly and the noises of the bums fighting outside and the sirens blasting have become music to my ears. 

Sportive- frolicsome; playful

The puppy was very sportive while he chased the butterfly. 

bam.

Pedant- someone who shows off learning

Mothers who drive around with bumper stickers proclaiming that their children are honor students can be classified as pedants.

Peripatetic- wandering from place to place, especially on foot

When I’m in cities, I love to be peripatetic because I feel that’s the best way to explore! 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

