Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

“we just got so excited every time someone brought something in. we always looked forward to it.”

Leave a comment

That is what one of the baristas from Caffe Vero told me when I came to pick up the supplies from the Food and Hygiene Drive I put together with the help of the United Way. Since I have been so busy with work, I didn’t have time to check on how the drive was going so it was almost like Christmas when I saw how generous my neighbors were. The hygiene box was full of several CVS bags, each filled with brand new toiletries. As for the food, to my surprise, the food didn’t look like it came out of someone’s pantry- again, all brand new. I almost cried when I saw that someone bought two boxes of baby food to donate. 

This was more than just a food drive to benefit our neighbors. This showed how much heart the community of Center Square has. Caffe Vero, a business that hasn’t even been open for a year, stepped up to the plate and offered to be the drop off site. Price Chopper was kind enough to donate the boxes. My friends stepped up to the plate and offered to print out fliers to advertise for the drive. Another friend of mine let me borrow her craft supplies to make the boxes look more attractive so that people would be encouraged to donate…and the best thing out of it all, most of the Lark Street businesses offered to hang up the fliers to advertise for the drive, even though for some- Caffe Vero is their competitor. They didn’t care. They did the right thing. This was purely a community effort.

So remember last night when I wrote that Albany has heart?

Today solidified that point. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

