Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Home’s face, how it ages when you’re away

Leave a comment

Hi Albany. We haven’t seen each other for a while. I woke up in my bedroom for the first time in months. The weird thing is, I’ve had the apartment since May, and all of my decorations were just sitting on my dresser. I don’t know why, but I never felt the need to hang them up but as soon as I got in the door, I immediately started hammering away and put all of my pictures, posters, and pennants up. (say that three times fast)

Looking back, even though it hasn’t been two weeks since my assignment was completed, I’m glad to say that if I could do it all over again, I absolutely would. That whole thing, “why don’t I just drop and leave everything and go to work in Virginia?” was one of the best decisions I made all year. There is a lot I miss and it has reinforced the notion, it’s not where you are- I was living and working in a county that is every regional planner’s worst nightmare realized- but it’s who you’re with. I found out that yes Virginia (no pun intended), it is entirely possible to have fun in a bar located within a strip mall. In fact, other than the fact they didn’t have Magic Hat or Spaten, it probably is one of the best bars I’ve been to. I’ve always been a fan of frequenting the places where everyone knows your name and I think Glory Days’ Broadlands location ranks up there with DeJohn’s and the City Beer Hall. 

I don’t know what this post really is supposed to be about. The only sentence I can write is that I think we should follow our passions and let the people who care about you know that you care about them as often as possible. Right before I left Virginia, I made sure a good friend knew that without meeting him, so many beautiful things in my life wouldn’t have happened and I’m thankful to call him my friend. If there is someone like that in your life, please let them know. 

Let’s rave on. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

