Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

where I see myself in ten years, revisited.

Leave a comment

I stumbled upon a post I wrote in July, where I wrote about where I see myself in 10 years. As I was studying for the GRE last night, I decided to check it out again. When I wrote it in July, I was looking for some inspiration to stay focused on studying for the GRE, which I was planning to take in September but then my job assignment came up. 

I’m glad to say everything on that list didn’t change.

Especially this:

When I’m 34, I hope that my closet is full of hiking and camping gear because I hope to have hiked up Mount Marcy and gone rock climbing several times.

and I’m pretty sure living in Northern Virginia reinforced this, haha:

When I’m 34, I hope to live in a city…after growing up in the country, even though it is beautiful, living in a city aligns more with my lifestyle. I don’t want to rely on my car, in fact, I hope that I will live somewhere where I would be able to sell it since I won’t need it or have a one car household. Honestly, if I really needed a car, I could just rent one. I really enjoy public transportation and I want to live somewhere where I would be able to commute via foot, bike, or train. When I was living in DC, I was the happiest I’ve ever been because I got the chance to do that every single day. I lived for my train ride in the morning and my half hour walk back home.

…and I still ache to do this:

When I’m 34, I hope that I will have performed in a play. I really miss doing theater. The last play I was in was during my freshman year of college. That needs to change.

I know why I’m taking this test. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

