Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

the worst food blogger ever: Chapter 1- Alex Makes Pesto.

Leave a comment

Lately, I’ve been feeling very nostalgic over my senior year dorm rooms. I still don’t know how to describe my senior year of college because it started in Fall 2008 but I didn’t graduate until December 2009 because even though I completed the requirements for my BA in Political Science, I had to complete my BS in Philosophy. Should I really call it my senior year and a half? I don’t know. However, what I do know is that I lived with eight of the most fabulous girls I know. I had two rooms I adored living in:

Higgins 400- 2008-2009. We used to call ourselves the 400 Acre Wood. Props to those who get the reference. 

Higgins 306- Fall 2009

Tonight, I made pesto. Anytime I make pesto, I think of Higgins 306. It was my roommate C’s birthday and I wanted to make her something special. I knew she liked pesto, so I made her chicken with pasta and pesto sauce. I decided to skip the store made stuff- C deserved better than that. I wanted to make her a dinner that was worthy to serve her on her birthday so I embarked on an adventure to make the pesto myself. Once I assembled the ingredients and looked at the recipe- I realized I was missing one key component. 

A food processor. 

You’d think that would be enough to stop a girl dead in her tracks and say “C and roomies, I think we need to go to the dining hall for dinner.” Yeah right. I didn’t let that get me down. Even though I was lacking the appliance that would enable me to make the pesto sauce in just five minutes, I persevered and chopped and tore the pesto into little, itty, bitty pieces myself. It took me two hours to do that. My fingernails were green for weeks but it didn’t matter. Dinner was awesome and C and my roomies loved it.

Tonight brought back those memories. I was making pesto for the first time since September 2009 but this time, it was different. My mom gave me a food processor for my birthday this year. I was so excited to make pesto with it that I decided to pull the ultimate blogger cliche ever!

Take pictures while you make food. Oh boy.

Making pesto was different this time around, not only because I had a food processor handy, but because the Delaware Avenue Price Chopper did not have pine nuts. The Sicilian in me got so frustrated. You can make pesto without nuts but it’s not the same. I decided to take a chance and buy almonds. 

1/3 of a cup, what, what!

Seriously, if you haven’t smelled fresh basil in a while, I don’t know what you’re waiting for. The dried stuff doesn’t hold a candle to this. Though, I should have pulsed the almonds first because it took a while to break them down in the food processor. The wonderful thing about the pine nuts is that they are so soft and take seconds to chop, but beggars can’t be choosers. If anything, a lesson was learned today. 

Somehow, a smooth consistency was achieved…

..and I got to take a picture, in horrible lighting, of my pesto pasta with potatoes and green beans, accompanied by a glass of Alex Bay Rosé from Thousand Islands Winery. This was a new dish for me, I found it in my roommate’s vegetarian cookbook. I never had potatoes as one of the main ingredients in a linguine dish but I have to say, they really made the dish! It had a nice, creamy consistency to it. I’d have to say, dinner was a success, especially because I almost caved in and bought meat today. The only thing that stopped me was that I knew I had to make the pesto sauce tonight otherwise my basil would have wilted. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

