Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

the reason why the opera is in me.

Leave a comment

Have you ever noticed that sometimes it’s hard to follow your own song? Not going to lie, it’s 15 days out until the GRE and I’m very nervous. I have a lot of anxiety about the math section. So far, I have been doing extraordinarily well on the verbal. But the math…is humbling. 

I never thought I’d be so serious about this but I think I’m really going to have to shut myself down for a couple weeks until the test. This test means a lot to me because even though 2012 looks to be a very exciting year, I still want the security of knowing I will be going to school and defer a semester if I needed to.

I realized it on my bike ride that as much as I love Albany- the bike trails, the summers, Thacher, the Hudson, the Mohawk, easy access to the upper Catskills, kayaking, the people, the shop owners who know your name, Alive at 5, EQX- professionally, it’s not cutting it because I don’t have my Masters and I’m so tired of feeling limited because I don’t have it. 

For example, I want experience in…

– Grant writing. There are so many jobs that desire that. I want the skills and experience

– writing press releases

– GIS (but that’s a given, seeing that I will be studying Environmental Policy)

I also want to live in DC and have a nice paycheck while doing something I love. Be able to take public transit or ride my bike to work. Take trips to Montreal. Maybe live there. Go to the Pacific Northwest and just get lost in the beauty. I could live there too. And most importantly, smile a lot and make my family proud. God, we’ve been through so much this year with my brother’s cancer, I really want us to explore and have some new memories together.

This is a haphazard post but I think I sorted some things out. Bring it on GRE. I’m going back to school.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

