Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Do It Yourself: String Art

Leave a comment

Well, I may be sick for New Year’s but I could care less. I haven’t been sick since April and I was so fortunate not be sick for my job assignments and the GRE, so I’ll take it! 

I decided to make the majority of the Christmas presents I gave this year. Yes, I know. The girl who, in the last three months, took a temporary job assignment in Virginia, moved back to NY, and took the GRE before the end of the New Year decided to go the DIY route for gifts. As you can imagine, I was only able to get one done but now, I have all of this free time on my hands and it’s sweet! 

When I was on Pinterest a few weeks ago, I saw this AWESOME piece of String Art: 

I was intrigued and I thought that this would make great gifts for my two best friends from high school. We all live in different parts of NY and I thought it would be cool to give them something like this. For each piece of string art, I positioned the heart over their current locations. If you’re looking to make something like this yourself, here are some instructions!

You Will Need:

  • A hammer
  • Nails 
  • A wood surface (you can find them easy at Wal Mart or any craft store)
  • Thin string
  • And whatever decorative extras you’d like to add!
  • An outline of a state. I found mine on Google Image search. Don’t try to freehand it, it doesn’t work. 

Step One


Position your outline on your wood surface. For some reason, my parents’ printer wasn’t working so I had to get some looseleaf paper and trace the outline with marker from my monitor. Hey, whatever works! If you decide to put a heart in your nail art, nail the heart down first. When I did this the first time, I nailed the state outline first and it was so hard to nail the heart down after that. 

Step Two

Start hammering away! 

Step Three

Yee hah. 

Step Four

Rip your outline off, because it’s time to start stringing!

Step Five

Stringing is easier said than done. First, tie a knot around the first nail. If you’re OCD like me, you’ll knot it again. And again. And again. Now, it’s time to start stringing. As you see in the picture, you will use one heart peg to string multiple string pegs. Make sure to hold the string tight as you go along. 

Step Six:

All done! Unfortunately glaze and flash aren’t meant to be friends. 

Total Cost: $8

Note: You may notice, Long Island is missing. It’s alright. I don’t consider it part of NY anyway. Upstate pride, ftw!

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

