Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

…and we’re back!

Leave a comment

After the demise of my computer on Friday (RIP Toshiba. We had a good 4 years together. I’m really going to miss your stickers), the only “computers” I’ve had access to were my: 

1. Work computer and I’m pretty limited as to what I can do on that.  

2. My Droid Razr. That poor thing. It’s been running so slow since I’ve been using it as a computer when it’s really supposed to be a phone. And an accessory to cure your boredom. I’ve been playing a lot of Angry Birds lately. 

But yay! I have new laptop! It’s a Dell XPS 15z. I’ll let y’all know how it performs. So far, I’m really impressed with how sturdy and fast it is. And I’m not going to lie, it kind of makes me want to use it on a job assignment. 

I tried hard to blog but there’s only so much you can do with a touchscreen keyboard on your phone without getting really frustrated at auto correct. I tried writing my thoughts down but while I was ice skating at Empire State Plaza this weekend (more to come on that in a later post), I ended up falling and my left arm took the hit. It’s not broken, but it’s really bruised. Since I write with my left hand, writing hasn’t been easy and I have a lot of pain in my wrist and elbow. Even though things are hard right now, I’m very blessed to have my friends and my roommates in my life. My friend took me grocery shopping since I can’t carry things right now. My roommate washed my hair last night, which was great, because I found out on Monday morning that it is a pain to wash your hair with one hand. I hope I can find a way to pay them back.

Other than that- the GRE is over and I’m filling out graduate school applications. I’m so happy that this test is over with for so many reasons, including the fact that I didn’t have time to cook for myself while I was studying for it, so I ate out a lot. Last night, I got back to cooking and it felt wonderful. You can count on another chapter in the Worst Food Blogger Ever series coming up soon. There’s been other great things that have been happening and you know, even if they don’t turn out the way I want to, I still believe in this (and forgive me if this is the umpteenth time you’re seeing this quote posted here): 

All I ask of you is one thing: please don’t be cynical. I hate cynicism — it’s my least favorite quality and it doesn’t lead anywhere. Nobody in life gets exactly what they thought they were going to get. But if you work really hard, and you’re kind, amazing things will happen.

– Conan O’Brien

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

