Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

the worst food blogger ever: Chapter 2- Spiced Chickpeas and Avocado over Rice

Leave a comment

One quirk about me is that I love cooking but it takes forever for me to settle on a recipe. I decided to be adventurous this week and wanted to see if I could pull off Spiced Chickpeas with Avocado over Rice. I’ve never cooked with avocado before; I’ve only used it in sandwiches or in guacamole. This was going to be interesting.

Here is the recipe, and you can find more like it on Cheap, Healthy, Good!

4 teaspoons olive oil, divided
1 large red onion, chopped
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 avocado, diced
A couple handfuls of cilantro, chopped (about ¾ cup chopped)
Juice of one lime
1/2 teaspoon salt, divided
3/4 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon hot paprika
Black pepper, to taste

1) Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large sautee pan over medium heat. Add onions and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Stir and cook slowly for 20-25 minutes, until onions are just about done to your liking. (You can go slowly and caramelize them, or turn up the heat and go faster for crispier onions, however you like.)

2) When the onions are just about done, stir in chickpeas. Add cumin, paprika, a few grinds of black pepper. (Add the spices gradually, and taste as you go.) Add 1-2 teaspoons more oil as needed – you don’t want this dry – and more salt, to taste. Cook until chickpeas are soft and creamy, 10-15 minutes. Adjust seasonings as needed.

3) Turn off heat and stir in avocado, cilantro, and lime juice.

4) Serve as-is, or over rice or in tortillas. Crumbled queso blanco makes a lovely addition.

What the recipe didn’t include was the prep time, which was the only downside to this dish. Dicing the avocado took forever because first, you have to skin the avocado. Then you need to take out the pit and finally, dice it. I want to say it took me a good half hour to finally cut up everything. 

That is what diced avocado looks like. I couldn’t believe it took up the whole bowl!

Sauteing the chickpeas and the onions. I always feel that red onions get such a bad rap but they’re so delicious. Also, I love spicy dishes so I put a teaspoon of cumin and a teaspoon of paprika, along with a generous amount of black pepper. It was just right. 

In goes the avocado and cilantro! I would say my only regret is not using more cilantro and lime juice. They really made the dish for me, but you might want to stick to the recipe. 

Serve over rice. I also put some cheese in there to cool it down a little bit. It was delicious.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

