Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

Cooking

Leave a comment

So- I’ve made it almost three months where I’ve only cooked pescatarian meals. I’ve never felt better and cooking has become my biggest passion. I still eat meat when I eat out because there are very few restaurants that make outstanding vegetarian meals but it’s very rare when I eat out now because I’ve become so conscious about what goes in my body. I really don’t know what goes on in a restaurant’s kitchen but I know what’s going on in mine. Every time I plan my meals, I’m always looking at how much cholesterol, fat, and sodium I’m taking in. It’s a great feeling- I’ve never felt so in control of my diet before and my body loves it. 

For the most part, I cook from scratch. It’s very time consuming but I don’t mind it- cooking is very relaxing to me. No matter what kind of day I’m having, I can retreat to the kitchen and focus on making a good meal. It’s made me think about what’s important to me in the future: for example, I would love to eventually have an apartment/house where the kitchen is the main star and everyone is helping to prepare a meal. I want to eventually bake my own breads and make my own pasta. I also want to start canning, which I really wanted to do this summer, but since an adventure is coming up very soon, I know I will not be able to. Also, since I’ve become aware about HOW MUCH SODIUM IS IN ANY STORE BROTH (even vegetable!), I’ve been collecting vegetable scraps over this past week to make my own broth. I’m looking forward to it- I can’t wait to have soup again! 

When I was speaking to my doctor about my diet, she asked if I replaced meat with cheese in my diet like some vegetarians do and I said I didn’t, more so because I’m lactose intolerant. The one thing I’m very conscious of is that I try to limit my pasta intake because it’s so easy to fall back on it on a vegetarian diet. When I collect recipes on Pinterest, for the most part I will not add it to my Recipe Board if it includes pasta. I should turn in my Italian card somewhere. I think my ancestors would kill me if they knew what I was doing.

There are some things I refuse to eat. I don’t eat tofu or the meat substitutes. Tofu is so time consuming to prepare that I’ve given up on it. As for the meat substitutes, they freak me out, to be quite honest. I know it’s not meat and my palate isn’t receptive to it. I have to coach myself while eating it and that’s no way to enjoy a meal. 

I really can’t wait to live a life where I can really focus on preparing good, healthy food. I truly feel that’s where I find my bliss.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

