Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

of all of the last weeks in Albany

Leave a comment

As I drove to Albany this morning, it hit me that this was my last week here. Unlike all of the other “last weeks” in Albany I’ve had…well, they were never the “last week.” I came back. I don’t know if I’m coming back after my business in Florida is done. So this could very well be the “last week.”

But I’m not sad about it. I was sad about it in 2010- I had almost everything planned out and if it wasn’t planned, glorious spontaneity ensued.  Girls night. Running through the streets. Alive at 5. Bar hopping. Jumping into the Hudson River. Falling Slowly. Playing with the fake dinosaurs in the Binghamton mall. Bubble Tea. Sitting on the sidewalk, outside Macy’s. I couldn’t have asked for a better “last week” than that and ever since then, it’s been pretty hard to top it. For every time I’ve needed to go away, I’ve found that I’ve become more lax about leaving. I was trying to figure out why and then it dawned on me about why I made it such a point to go out with a bang for that “last week” in 2010…

…and that’s because I was so worried, in 2010, that once I’m gone that my friends will forget about me. So we did all of these epic things and I’m so thankful that we did them but I learned something after I came back from 2010- that if you have real friends…they won’t forget about you. They’ll be there right where you left them. It doesn’t matter how busy they got or you got. As soon as you pick up the phone, open up a GChat, or see them in person (I’ll be doing two of the former more often than the latter after I leave)…it will be like you two just saw each other yesterday. I know better now and it dulls the pain of leaving.

Until we see each other again.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

