Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

veg out.

Leave a comment

On any given day, whenever I’m on a work assignment you will hear me say one of three things:

1. I need to eat better

2. I need to exercise more

3. I should get out and see more of this area

This was my first day off in a couple of weeks and I’m actually happy to report that I did none of those things. It was a glorious day of camping out on the couch, watching TV, eating more Nerds Rope than I ever thought was possible, and a nap or two. It was exactly what I needed. Usually, my day offs are my ocean days, but you know, I haven’t spent a day at “home,” that didn’t include me recovering from my wisdom teeth being removed since…wow. I don’t think I’ve done that since I came to Florida and I’ve been here for almost three months now. 

My bike will be ready to pick up on Wednesday! Ahh, I’m looking forward to waking up at 7:00AM and cruising around the neighborhood on my new Raleigh. One of the things I’m looking forward to is getting back involved in the cycling community when I get to Newark next year.

I cannot wait to get involved with academia again. Florida has been very soul searching for me. I used to talk with my political science adviser a lot about my career plans and I said to her that I want to get as much field experience as I can because I do plan to be a professor one day. I feel that when it comes to the world of political science, that students will be more successful if they are exposed to the field and I want to show them as much of the real poli sci world as I can. This is what keeps me motivated. 

I realize I am living in one of the most beautiful places in the world. I do need to explore Florida more and I hope to chronicle those adventures here. If there’s anything I saw in my last post, it’s that I miss writing like crazy and I need to make time for it. I’ve tried to use Twitter, but ah- it’s just not the appropriate medium for me, I think. I like telling stories and nothing will ever compare to how natural it feels to blog. 

Because you can roll on to tangents, like this!

Next week, I will have another day off and I know exactly where I’m going to spend it. Universal Studios. It’s going to be on a weekday which means the lines won’t be as crazy as they normally would be on the weekends which will be great because I haven’t been on a roller coaster since…2007? Gah. That’s way too long. I eventually want to get down to Sea World but I don’t know why, but I’m not very excited about visiting Disney. I feel it’s something great when you’re a kid but I’ve always been more of a roller coaster fiend and Universal delivers on that aspect.

Until next time, America.

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

