Alex in Transit(ion)

A great WordPress.com site

…and just go.

Leave a comment

A good friend and I were talking on my day off. Although we see each other every day, we rarely get the time to really chat but when we do get to talk, I always feel so inspired by her. If there’s anything I love about these experiences I’ve had these last couple of years, it’s learning about how caring people can be and she truly epitomizes that. 

We were sitting down and talking about me going to graduate school next year. She asked me if I had plans to study abroad and I told her that even though I would love to, I was afraid that if I studied abroad, that I would be missing out on job and internship opportunities. She understood, but said this:

“Alex, if there’s anything you do before you graduate, just go to Europe with a friend who is as curious as you and backpack. Have some direction with where you’re going but do what you want.”

I smiled when she said that because I always fall for that kind of wanderlust. That is my dream- to save up whatever money I can and just go from destination to destination. Ireland. England. Denmark. The Netherlands. France. Germany. Turkey. Greece and then spend as much time as humanly possible in Italy and finally see where I come from. 

I can’t help but to close my eyes and smile every time I think about that. It’s going to happen one day. 

For some reason, Pearl Jam is the perfect music to listen to late at night. Vedder is truth. 

Author: Alex

Hello! My name is Alex but you can call me Alexandra if you're feeling fancy. Here you'll find my adventures about exploring my new city of Hoboken, NJ, scurrying over the Hudson River to NYC, my bicycle excursions, and how I'm learning to embrace in medias res.

Leave a Reply

